We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO GET AWAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Elk River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Elk River
875 West Main Street W., Highway 194, Banner Elk, NC 28604   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Morganton, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT PLACE TO GET AWAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our room was exceptionally clean and the full fireplace added to our comfortable and cozy stay. Hostess was very generous and accomodating. Breakfast was very tastly. We will definitely return .... David & Kathy

Room Tip: Higher floor has excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! Thank you so much for your stay & please tell all of your friends! Please come back to our B&B inn on your next return to Banner Elk! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at "The Inn at Banner Elk" during Valentine's Day weekend Feb 14-17, 2013. We had a Wonderful time! The Williamsburg style B&B "Inn" was so comfortable!!! Our room had a beautiful full fireplace which keep us warm and cozy while several inches of sparkling snow poured down around our B&B and all of Banner Elk. The B&B overlooks the Elk River Country Club & its' small private airport. Darlene Calvert, the Innkeepper, was soooooo accomodating to our every need - whether it was for a listing of nearby good restaurants or activities to try out - Darlene always came through! Her breakfast's were something to write home about!!! We would HIGHLY RECOMMEND The Inn at Elk River to anyone looking for a Great & Memorable B&B!!! We'll be back SOON!
Sincerely,
Jay & Millie Heavner...Gastonia, NC.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks Jay so very much for your outstanding review on Trip Advisor! All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! Thank you so much for your stay & please tell all of your friends! Please come back to our B&B inn on your next return to Banner Elk! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I just spent our 15 year anniversary here. The hostess was as friendly as ANYONE could ever meet. The den and the rooms were clean and cozy. Definitely would recommend the Inn and stay there again.
Brian V

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! Thank you so much for your stay & please tell all of your friends! Please come back to our B&B inn on your next return to Banner Elk! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We loved our stay at the Inn and would definitely return again. The room was wonderful and created a relaxing atmosphere plus we loved the fireplace. Darlene was a fantastic host and made us feel welcome as soon as we walked in. And don't get me started on the breakfast, it was fantastic! We were the only ones there at the time but Darlene was always there when we needed anything (even setting up hot water for tea and cider) and we enjoyed chatting with her. We had to leave early due to weather, but we had the most excellent time and hope to come stay for more than just two days. I highly recommend the Inn at Banner Elk (and the chocolate chip french toast) if you want a true get-a-way and relaxing vacation, even if it's only a few days.!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! Thank you so much for your stay & please tell all of your friends! Please come back to The Inn at Elk River on your next return to Banner Elk! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have stayed there s couple of times now and we really enjoy staying there! It is a lovely setting no matter what season. Darlene is always very friendly and helpful. We plan to stay there again real soon!

Room Tip: The Magnolia room in on the top floor at one end. Nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! Thank you so much for your stay & please tell all of your friends! Please come back to our B&B inn on your next return to Banner Elk! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Inn is like a second home. Cozy fireplace in the den and a friendly Inn Keeper who takes care of all your needs. Breakfast is fantastic overlooking the mountains. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Each room has access to a deck that shares the same view you get at breakfast.

Room Tip: There are several rooms that have a fireplace. We have stayed in the lower floor as well as the upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! Thank you so much for your stay & please tell all of your friends! Please come back to our B&B inn on your next return to Banner Elk! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was cold outside but warm within. We came to see the snow but just want our tootsies to stay warm. Our room got heated up quickly with the baseboard heat and toasty hot with the fire going. The wind was blowing outside on this wintery night in January--it sounded like jets overhead,,perched on a ridge like it is--overlooking the western mountains-the view is incredible and the sunset--well..you just have to be there.
The house is well kept and clean. It is decorated in a real colonial style, but I think it really needs some updating in the bathrooms..but they are adequate. The best aspect is Darlene who is the Innkeeper, Chef and a Friend InDeed especially if you were to get snowbound. The driveway is for four wheel drive in snow, though there is a back entrance that is not as steep. Be sure to call Darlene to get the forecast in Winter or check Rays Weather for the best report for Banner Elk she says.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! Thank you so much for your stay & please tell all of your friends! Please come back to our B&B inn on your next return to Banner Elk! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Elk River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Elk River

Address: 875 West Main Street W., Highway 194, Banner Elk, NC 28604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Elk River in Banner Elk, NC is honored to have received a 2012 Trip Advisor Award of Excellence! For the past year, Trip Advisor has ranked the Inn at Elk River as the #1 B&B facility in the NC High Country Mountain region, an honor that Innkeeper Darlene Calvert works very hard to maintain. The Inn is always spotless clean and fresh. The Inn has 8 rooms with private baths and a beautiful view of the NC mountains from the deck outside each room. Four of the eight rooms have working fireplaces for cool, cozy evenings. Room rates include a full breakfast for two prepared and served fresh each morning. The Inn at Elk River is an inviting Williamsburg Inn that has been owned and operated by three couples since 1996; John and Malinda Lowery, Bill and Loretta Dodgen and Richard and Ann Miller. Come and enjoy every season in Banner Elk N.C. as The Inn at Elk River is open year round and the hospitality will surpass your expectations. Come see for yourself why The Inn at Elk River has been rated the #1 B&B in the NC mountains by TripAdvisor for the past year! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Elk River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Elk River to your Saves list