We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayou Smokehouse & Grill

Bayou Smokehouse & Grill
130 Main St E, Village Shops, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9238
828-898-8952
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 45 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We found this little bar/restaurant late one evening. It was one of the few places open after 10. We ordered drinks and food. The food was good - our server was very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    68
    35
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very generous portions of well-seasoned but only average food. Great beer list and fun atmosphere. Really more of a bar with food options. Service was good, but they were not very busy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banner Elk NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No other restaurants around has JACK like the Bayou!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Newly aquired. The Bayou Smokehouse and Grill has a new asset to their kitchen. Meet Jack. He is a great cook with a passion for flavor! If you don't know Jack, then stop by and take your taste buds for a treat! I GUARANTEE! Keep in mind that all meals are made to order. During busy times, they are doing their best !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait or price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

SmokeLunch WaS Pretty Lackluster. It Was $45 Before TIp For Two Drinks, Two MealsAnd Two Kids Meals. We Waited More Than 45 Minutes FoR Our Food. Although Everyone Was Very Apologetic About The Wait, It WaS Still Long. The Portions Were Generous, But Nothing Much Stood Out Flavor-Wise. Jalapeno POtato Cakes Were Yummy. House SMoked Sausage Was Very Tasty. Didn't Care Much For Gravy, Mashed Potatoes, Green Beans, Bbq Brisket, Ribs Or Okra.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food but loooooooooooooooooooooong wait for food:(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We came for a drink on our first evening and were recommended by our server to come back another evening and try the food. Apparently Chuck the Chef is second to none....well he might well be, but apparently not on a Monday night. We waited over an hour for our appetizers to appear and another table left after waiting 2 hours for their meal.....what is up with this place? Such a shame because the food was actually delicious.......once it arrived!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayou Smokehouse & Grill also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Bayou Smokehouse & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayou Smokehouse & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.