We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bayou Smokehouse & Grill

Bayou Smokehouse & Grill
130 Main St E, Village Shops, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9238
828-898-8952
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 40 restaurants in Banner Elk
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Orlando
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really bad!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After reading the really positive reviews on Tripadvisor, we were completely shocked at the horrible time that we had at this restaurant. While our waitress was ok (nothing above and beyond, just an ok waitress), the food, cleanliness and friendliness of the hostess was enough to make anyone run for the hills. Now, after reading the bad reviews, I realize we should have read them first. Also, after going to two other local restaurants that were both completely full and had an hour or longer wait, that should have been a sign. The Bayou was completely empty, except for a couple at the bar, and two other tables. The food was all disgusting. I had the sampler platter that was nothing even as good as a box of Zatarans. The children's food was not even edible, except for the french fries that they ended up eating just because they were hungry. The wall at the end of the booth that we were seated in was covered with so much food, grim and nastiness that, again, we should have decided to leave before ordering. Sadly, the last thing to mention was how horrifying the restrooms and kitchen were. The bathrooms were so filthy that I didn't even want my children to wash their hands. Yes, pretty bad when a sink is so dirty that you don't want to use it. As we were leaving the restrooms, I took an unfortunate glimpse into the kitchen, that is located directly across from the restrooms. The floors were covered in so much muck that the only thing I can think is how surprised I am that we didn't all get sick from our food (what little of it was actually eaten). Please. Take the advise of the other reviewers and make your decision wisely before you attempt to feed yourself or your family here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    104
    48
    30
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The food was great, along with the service! Great place to watch a game! Even the other customers were friendly. This was just a great little friendly place to hang out while waiting on check in time at the Blueberry Villa!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trackside
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch and dinner ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We probably ate there 3-4 times during our weeks stay. Great cajun food and selection of beers. A family atmosphere pub/tavern.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not the worst, not the best.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I came in twice this week during our vacation and the experience was hardly enjoyable both times. Our server, Will, was outstanding but the food however was flavorless. We came in again for drinks deciding to give bayou another chance. The service wasn't terrible but it wasn't great. Our bartender, Walter, was rude and was no where to be seen for refills. When we the bartender finally checked on us again he was short and unfriendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Trust the next time the service will be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Brunch here was mixed. The mushroom omelets were really good. Jambalaya was so-so, shrimp and grits just okay. Bread pudding was good but cold. My husband stood at the bar four times trying to get drinks refilled, silverware, to order the bread pudding. Waitstaff never helped him or asked if he needed something and our waitress was there to take our orders and that was it. My husband even had to hunt down the check. The manager took the bread pudding off the bill and assured us that "we are better than this. Please give us another chance". And I believe him. He was very embarassed and apologetic. We will give them another chance

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayou Smokehouse & Grill also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Bayou Smokehouse & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayou Smokehouse & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.