We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT Ski in and Ski out location” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Branches

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Branches
Timber Ridge Road, Banner Elk, NC 28604   |  
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Banner Elk
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“NOT Ski in and Ski out location”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I guess depending on which building location you are staying may make a difference if you can actually get on the slope or not. I booked unit 14 and was told this building I could get on the slope. Well no way no how there were over 100 steps that were never shoveled and just pure ice. After attempting with children and us all falling we gave up and had to drive to slope. I would not recommend using resort real estates sales and rentals. They out right lied about the location and slope access.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

2/6-13/09

We stayed at the Branches from 2/6-13/09. The resort does not have a check-in location, so you have to Real Estate, Resort, Rentals office for check in & out. We checked in & out off hours so they left the key in the box next to the door. There is a storage closet outside that locks for your skis & stuff and also a little bench to put your ski boots on. The décor is definitely 80’s and does not seem to have been updated. The 2 bedroom 2 bath unit was clean and spacious. The kitchen was a little tight for 2 people, but had plenty of dishes/pans and a place to put your food. The counter top was stained and the linoleum floor had seen a better day. The carpet in the living room had stains but still looked clean. The fireplace was easy to light (had directions close to it). The table with the TV looked pretty beat up but was functional. The view out on the sliding glass door was nice. You could sit on the chair or swing and look at the small creek or watch skiers/snowboarders go by on Easy Street slope on Sugar mountain.

Master bedroom has king size bed, TV, make up area, and bath. The Jacuzzi bath is a regular size tub with jets. We did not use it. The closet was huge. The bed was comfortable. The other bedroom had 2 twin beds in it and it shared a bath with the living room. It had a shower/bath and a small corner vanity.

I had a stackable washer dryer in the hallway. The dryer vented to the room (no external vent).

They do not provide any extra toilet paper, paper towels, or garbage bags. They did give me a roll of toilet paper, but they normally do not do that. The club house had wireless, but did not work. We went to another resort and sat in the parking lot.

There was about 2 to 3 story worth of steps down to get to the ski slopes. It was a little difficult with boots on. I drove my wife around when she went. But it was convenient being able to come back to the room without getting in the car. The was lit up at night.

Overall it was a nice resort and I recommend it. It needs some updating, but we really felt comfortable there.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, GA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2007

We stayed at The Branches during our visit to Sugar Mountain. The condo was right near the beginner slope. In fact, we could walk down a trail to the lifts, which was great because then we didn't have to worry about parking and shuttling. The view was great. We could watch skiers all day and into the night.

The condo was laid out very well. The kitchen was stocked with some pots and cooking utensils. The fireplace had gas logs and turned on and off with a switch, no lighting necessary and no messing with wood and ashes. The bedrooms were nice and large and the closets were big, too.

The skiing at Sugar Mountain was some of the best in the Southeast. The lift lines were not too long and there was fresh snow mixed with man-made snow. We really liked how the resort was laid out. It was very easy to get around and you really did feel like you were nestled away in the woods.

Our 5-year-old took a group lesson and a private lesson. He learned so much that he was skiing down blues by the time we left. This was our kids first exposure to snow and they both had a great time. Our 3- year-old liked the little playground that was right in back of our condo.

All in all, this was a great ski resort and we really enjoyed our stay at the condo. It was comfy, warm and nicely decorated. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Branches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Branches

Also Known As:
The Branches Hotel Banner Elk
The Branches Hotel
Address: Timber Ridge Road, Banner Elk, NC 28604
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Banner Elk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Banner Elk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Branches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Branches to your Saves list