We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view at a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Ski & Country Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugar Ski & Country Club
100 Sugar Ski Drive, Banner Elk, NC 28604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Banner Elk
Orlando
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great view at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom unit over the New Year's holiday and loved it. It is great for the kids to have their own room and a kitchen to make our own meals. The units are a bit older and the kitchen needs to be updated, but the unit was great overall and very functional. We had a great view from Building 8 and, although we didn't ski, we enjoyed watching everyone else. Only other complaint would be the constant buzz from the snow blowers. Became background noise at some point, but it can be quite loud.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
24
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My mom and I went up to stay for 2 nights recently and had a really fun experience. The day we arrived it was still snowing from the last storm so we got stuck there. Unfortunately once we got to the resort & checked in, we realized there were wasn't a restaurant on property. Fortunately, Arlene the night staff member saved us with junk food. Kind of like a time share. Kitchens, ironing boards, etc. No food. Views are apparently good but it was foggy the whole time we were there. Ski in/ski out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I took my 3 son's to ski the Presidents week of Feb 2013. Although the 2 bedroom condo/2 bath could use some updating, I was pleased with the upkeep and quality for what I paid. Great ski in and ski out location at unit 4. A bit of a drive down hill but my kids loved that too. They have a great lodging/ski package for 3 days. Very happy and would recommend. They also kept the rodes and parking lot in check with all the snow too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We booked this property because of it's location to a blue ski lift on Sugar Mountain. The balcony had a great view of the mountains and top of the Big Red lift. If you're new to skiing, you may not want this location unless you can ski on a blue run, which is what Big Red is. Otherwise you will be driving up and down the mountain every day. Our room, 521, is the nicest room in building 5 and well worth the upgrade charge. Granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, tile floors in the bathrooms, tile shower in master room, wood floors in kitchen and dining area, surround sound, flat screen TVs! Easy access from the parking lot, easy access to the slopes, nice hot tub in the pool room to ease the aches and pains from a long day of skiing. Only 50 yard walk to the office/pool area and laundry. I highly recommend this unit.

Room Tip: book this location if you want easy access to a blue level ski run.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We rented a great condo. I could see the kids get of the lift from my nice warm room.
The condo was in great shape. They had a fully stocked kitchen. They had everything we needed. It is a great place to stay with easy access to the slopes.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor so we did not have to walk up alot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Fl
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have stayed at Sugar Ski for the last 20 years, it is a great location to base a mountain vacation. We are summer guests. It is a lovely area. We hike the ski slopes and other areas in the region. White water rafting opportunities are available through local outfitters. Over the years, the management of Sugar Ski has had it's ups and downs. Most recently, we have been please with everything. Keep in mind,the units were designed for short term occupancy and do not have the massive space and extras other facilities may offer. The view from Sugar Ski is breathtaking. Our kids still insist on vacation at Sugar Ski.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the pool and entrance gate areas seem to have more issues with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Perched right atop the mountain at the start of the slope, location doesn't get much better than this! You can literally wake up and look out the balcony at the lifts and skiers, walk right out the condo across the little parking lot and start skiing. The only downfall (no pun intended) for me, is that I am a terrible skier and this is an intermediate slope! Be aware!

The little condos are nice. We have rented a 2/2 with a fireplace and kitchen and balcony 2 years in a row now. Kitchens are usually pretty equipped with tools and cookware and we generally cook every day. The snow has been great both times we've been and we plan on coming back next year! We met some really nice people and other couples in the hot tub/pool area inside. Neat little place thats very comfortable for our family.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the slope and wake up to beautiful snow covered scenes!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Ski & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Ski & Country Club

Address: 100 Sugar Ski Drive, Banner Elk, NC 28604
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Ski & Country Club offers privately owned condominiums for rent. Ranging in size from efficiency to two bedroom/two bath units, we have a clubhouse on property with an indoor, heated swimming pool, sauna,hot tub and a computer room with a desktop with internet access for use during your stay as well as a desk with wifi available for you to use your own laptop. During winter months, Ski Country Sports operates a ski and snowboard rental shop Fri-Sun and on holidays for your convenience in our lounge area. Our two bedroom units are ski in/ski out on Big Red and all units have foot path/walking access to the main run on the slopes at the Sugar Mountain Resort called Upper Flying Mile. During the summer, our elevation at 4900ft brings cool breezes. Sugar Mountain also has a series of hiking and mountain biking trails available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugar Ski And Country Club
Sugar Ski & Country Club Hotel Banner Elk
Sugar Ski Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Ski & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sugar Ski & Country Club to your Saves list