We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hassle getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Archer's Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Archer's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Archer's Mountain Inn
2489 Beech Mountain Parkway, Banner Elk, NC 28604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
1 review
“No hassle getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Great deal, wonderful views, friendly service, fantastic restaurant. It may not be perfect for everyone, but I would have been happy to stay another week. Make sure to plan your outings, besides skiing and hiking there are only a few tourist locations, and each of the towns are very small and can only provide but so much entertainment with so few local shops.

P.S. get the French toast, phenomenal

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    50
    18
    18
    13
See reviews for
31
116
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

First, I want to say my girlfriend and I had a wonderful time at Archer's Mountain Inn. We stayed in the Beech Room, which had a spectacular view out over the valley and across to Grandfather Mountain and Sugar Mountain. The room was large and well appointed, and we particularly liked the fireplace. The included breakfast was excellent, I would recommend the omelette, which was delicious! Additionally, the food at the restaurant for dinner was quite good, and is probably the best dinner within a 20-30 minute drive from what I could find. The location was excellent, about 5 minutes away from Beech Mountain skiing and 10 from some great hiking and biking trails at the top of Beech Mountain. The staff was very friendly and helpful, which always makes a stay more pleasant. Overall, it was a great place to stay for the weekend, and I would highly recommend it to a friend.

The reason Archer's Mountain Inn gets only 4 out of 5 is that I couldn't recommend it without explaining a few things, which is really unfortunate. With a few simple changes, the room would have been noticeably nicer. There were stains on the dining table chairs, which could be recovered pretty easily, and shower curtain rod was rusty and kind of off-putting. Replacing it would be inexpensive and simple. Finally, the TV was in a huge cabinet that dominated the room, and was weirdly situated so it was uncomfortable to watch from the couch or the bed. It looked like the top half of the cabinet could be removed, which would largely have solved the problem. Also, a DVD player, though not essential, would have been nice, since the nightlife seems to end around 9.

All in all, we had a great time, and would return to Archer's Mountain Inn, hopefully to find some of our suggestions put into action.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Wonderful big room-immaculate and comfortable ! Bed was most comfortable ever--and we have travelled quite a bit. Stone fireplace was a pleasure as was the lovely view. Glad to have refrig. and microwave; the restaurant offers delicious breakfasts as well as gourmet dinner. Owner Candy was almost always present and runs her lodge with good skill and charm. Her staff are considerate and topnotch. We have already reserved another time here-- as well as have good friends doing same.

Room Tip: The Blue Ridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Beautiful views, our room was on the lower level, we still had great views. We could also hear the people walking above us, not a big deal. Loved the big porch and the rocking chairs. We didn't use the fire place, but would have if it had been colder. Breakfast was very nice, great omlet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and plan to go back. Very rustic, yes, but we loved it.

Room Tip: you might get a better view from the top floor, but there are heaters under the bottom floor. we ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archers_Mountain_Inn, Manager at Archer's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We are continually upgrading and offering value incentive packages. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was very disappointed, very old,no cups in the bathroom to brush our teeth and my conditioner bottle that they left was 3/4 full, cobwebs all in the ceiling and light fixtures don't think it had been cleaned in awhile, dust all over the fixtures, the worst was the mattress. My husband and I woke both mornings with bad back aches, we slept in a hole, no coffee pot in the room, I asked for one, old comforters and mis matched linens, worst thing was we booked on a Living Socials Coupon and I didn't realize til we got there that had switched us to a smaller room and didn't offer to compensate. The restaurant was good,service there was good, but pricey. I will not be going back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archers_Mountain_Inn, Owner at Archer's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We regret you did not enjoy your getaway. We would have welcomed the opportunity to speak with you in person and feel confident we could have remedied some of these things while you were here. Our package that included a two night stay, breakfasty daily, champagne, snack basket and $30 voucher for dinner which was $180 has been well received by most. Since all rooms are different the room choices were on a first come basis. We do hope that you will try another occasion. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Verry Rustic. Could use a upgrade. Staff is very friendly. Water preasure was almost 0 - 10 lbs at times. Did not have room service the second day? Blinds were in horrible shape and other guest could see in if desired. View was great,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archers_Mountain_Inn, Owner at Archer's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate hearing the good and also being informed of areas of opportunity. We are in a constant improving stage with regard to room upgrades. We apologize that we were unaware of the blinds, we could have quickly remedied that. Keep in mind , also, that we are always providing cost effective packages to allow for budget minded travel, too. We hope you'll return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a great mountain retreat to go to with great views and good location. A great weekend get away, though could use a few more amenities. We had dinner at Jackalopes and the food was great as well as the view. I would recommend this inn to anyone looking for a rustic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Archer's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archer's Mountain Inn

Address: 2489 Beech Mountain Parkway, Banner Elk, NC 28604
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jackalope's Mountain Lodge features fifteen hotel rooms with a fantastic restaurant and bar. Our lodge rooms are recently refreshed with all new 400 thread count sheets, towels, and Gilchrist and Soames amenities.Breakfast serviced IN YOUR ROOM, while you take in the mountain air on your decks....JOIN us at Jackalope's View restaurant "The Best Dining View in the Mountains" ; for the all new menu items and some of the old favorites.We also have several lovely cabins and vacation home rentals for rent.Our hotel and cabins are located on the side of Beech Mountain in the Blue Ridge Mountains of western North Carolina. We are close to three local ski resorts, hiking, shopping, and much more!Use the menu above to browse through our accommodations. Make Jackalope's Lodge and the View Restaurant on Beech Mountain your next mountain vacation destination.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Archer's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archer`s Mountain Hotel Banner Elk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archer's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.