We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Archer's Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Archer's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Archer's Mountain Inn
2489 Beech Mountain Parkway, Banner Elk, NC 28604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Tifton, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We've now stayed at 3 different mountain inns, and loved each of them. However, Archer's Mountain Inn was the BEST! The A-1 staff treated us as well as we've been treated at 4-star hotels. The rooms were large and comfortable. The view was outstanding. For us "flatlanders," the drive was not difficult.

Dining was a truly unique and pleasent experience. Start off with a breath-taking view. Great service. Fabulous food! Beautiful presentation.

The folks running Archer's Mountain Inn have been doing it for over 17 years. They've got serving their visitors down to a science. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archers_Mountain_Inn, Owner at Archer's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We enjoyed meeting you and will look forward to many of your returns! Kindest regards, Candi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    50
    18
    18
    13
See reviews for
31
116
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A perfect place for a wedding reception or for a weekend getaway. We have stayed at Archer’s Inn several times over the years, the staff is always on point and will do anything to make your stay more enjoyable. The food at Jackalope’s is the best on Beech, along with the best bartender Billy, upstairs in the Vault.

Our decision to get married on Beech and to have the reception at Jackalope’s was an easy one. The views alone from the Inn are amazing. Every person on staff helped in the planning and setting up of our reception. We hardly had to do anything. Our guests loved the unique charm of their rooms and thought the food was extraordinary.

The views, food, and unique characteristics to every room make it worth going back again and again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archers_Mountain_Inn, Owner at Archer's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
It was our pleasure to host your wedding! What joy from the beginning of the planning to the end of the execution! We hope to see you and your family back soon! Thanks for choosing us! The crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at Archer's Mountain Inn that we purchased on Living Social. Upon arrival, check in was quick and the guy at the front desk was very nice. Upon arriving to our room (the Elk River Room), we really were not able to get past the first impression. Our carpet had not been vacuumed and there was trash along the side of the wall. Between the bottom of our bed and the truck at the end of the bed was an old pair of black underwear that had apparently been left at some point. The closet had a musty smell and upon looking in there with a flashlight, we were able to see that the inn had a water leak. Needless to say we didn't put our luggage in the closet since the carpet was damp. The only thing that kept us staying there was the fact that the bathroom was clean and the sheets were new (you could tell by the creases in the sheets that they were directly from a new package.) The next morning, we went for breakfast and the food was good. I asked the innkeeper if our room could be vacuumed since it appeared that it had not been vacuumed and informed her of the underwear we found. She stated that the vacuuming had not been done because the HK staff was in a hurry, but that she would take care of it. So we left for our zip line adventure hoping to return to a cleaner room. When we arrived back to the room that night, unfortunately nothing had been done except switching out our towels. So we got dressed and went to dinner. Eating a Jackalope's was great. The elk is very good and service was great. Our waiter did a very good job, but one item to note is that they included the tip on the bill (even though it was only 2 of us). Overall, we had a great trip to Banner Elk, and really enjoyed the food and the view, but I will not stay at Archer's Mountain Inn again.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, be sure to book one of the cabins in the Hawks View lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfafftown, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Having just returned from a fantastic weekend in the NC High Country, I wanted to post this review of Archer's Mountain Inn. My wife and I stayed in the Hawks View lodge, in the Blue Ridge Room. Our room was spacious, had a fireplace, vaulted ceilings, air conditioning, ceiling fan, microwave, and coffee maker. I recommend booking a second floor room just for the expanded views - we spent a lot of time on the shared blacony, in the provided rocking chairs soaking in the scenery. Our room was clean but, to be completely honest, had a few cosmetic issues. I think these could be quickly and easily addressed, and did not impact the enjoyment of our stay. It felt like we were at cosy cabin in the mountans with the exposed beams and real wood paneling. We ate dinner one night at the Jackalope's View restaurant and had a fantastic meal! The breakfasts in the morning were equally as good and prepared FAST! The service was excellent and the staff of both the resaturant and the inn were hard-working and very friendly. Speaking of friendly, we also enjoyed the very large chocolate lab, Kip, who invited himself into our room to say hello and get a tummy rub. We love dogs, so it was fine by us, but if you aren't a dog person, you may want to keep you door or screen closed.
We hope to return soon to enjoy this little of piece of Beech Mountain nostalgia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archers_Mountain_Inn, Owner at Archer's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! it is a pleasure to have you as our guest and we will look forward to many returns! Kindest regards, Candi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The views from this place are great! Make sure you stay on the secOnd floor of the Hawks Lodge. FULL Breakfast included and is tasty with beautiful views. Including fire logs for free us a very nice touch. Jackalope Restaurant onsite is very good. Cool upstairs bar with pool table. Relaxing on the porch in the rocking chair is the best part!! VERY friendly and helpful staff. The big dog wandering around is not a stray -- he belongs here.
Suggestions: larger bars of soap, real creamer and better coffee in rooms. Will be here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archers_Mountain_Inn, Owner at Archer's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thanks for your feedback and kind words, we will look forward to your return! Keep your eye out for upcoming winter packages, too. We look forward to your return! Kindest regards, Candi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at Archer's Mountain Inn on a road trip through several states. Our room was the Suite at the top of some craggy stone steps, however it was worth the walk up. A wooden railing made the climb safe for us old folks...and once we were there it was quiet and spacious. The furnishings of the room fit the setting -- rustic -- and we had a private fireplace. The room was clean and serviced in the hour we had breakfast each morning. Help or information was readily available whenever we asked. The owner, Sandy, is on site and has been welcoming guests for 16 years.

Every room at the Inn was filled during our visit, but the buildings are spread out so we felt we had the place almost to ourselves. There is a viewing deck off the restaurant that is uncovered. Views from the rounded restaurant, Jackalope's, highlight the mountain views and are spectacular. The varied schedules of the guests almost always allowed a window seat to see the view. Jackalope's has won culinary awards over the years and our breakfasts and dinner were excellent.

The weather was perfect. Wireless was free, and available from all areas, the guest room and common areas. I found several view-inspired spaces to accomplish my writing. One afternoon the staff directed to me a remote area that was totally quiet.

This is not for someone who is looking for a pampered resort setting/tennis courts/swimming pool. The hiking trails and natural mountain beauty were more than enough to satisfy us. We will return to this site for a longer stay in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archers_Mountain_Inn, Owner at Archer's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and absolutely perfect description of what we are. We will look forward to your book when it is published! We hope your travels will bring you back this way. Kindest regards, Candi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great views, service and dinner at the Jackalope is a must. Not the best weather, but we were able to get in some fabulous views before sunset on our weekend getaway. The room was quiet and fairly comfortable - a great place to sleep if you have more than just 2. We had two queens and a sofa in front of the fireplace. I could definitely see us sitting on a cold and snowy night in front of the fire. The trick to enjoying the Archer's Mtn Inn is to set your expectations and enjoy the fresh air, friendly people and all that beautiful Blue Ridge scenery.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archers_Mountain_Inn, Owner at Archer's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking time to offer your honest feedback. We will look forward to your return in the winter! Kindest regards, Candi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Archer's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archer's Mountain Inn

Address: 2489 Beech Mountain Parkway, Banner Elk, NC 28604
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jackalope's Mountain Lodge features fifteen hotel rooms with a fantastic restaurant and bar. Our lodge rooms are recently refreshed with all new 400 thread count sheets, towels, and Gilchrist and Soames amenities.Breakfast serviced IN YOUR ROOM, while you take in the mountain air on your decks....JOIN us at Jackalope's View restaurant "The Best Dining View in the Mountains" ; for the all new menu items and some of the old favorites.We also have several lovely cabins and vacation home rentals for rent.Our hotel and cabins are located on the side of Beech Mountain in the Blue Ridge Mountains of western North Carolina. We are close to three local ski resorts, hiking, shopping, and much more!Use the menu above to browse through our accommodations. Make Jackalope's Lodge and the View Restaurant on Beech Mountain your next mountain vacation destination.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Archer's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archer`s Mountain Hotel Banner Elk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archer's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.