We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay, Great Staff and "More Views than a Politician"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Archer's Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Archer's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Archer's Mountain Inn
2489 Beech Mountain Parkway, Banner Elk, NC 28604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Amazing Stay, Great Staff and "More Views than a Politician"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Archer's Mountain Inn in Banner Elk, NC for our 5 year anniversary! It was one of the most enjoyable times of our lives! The view from our room was breath taking and the in-room fireplace helped set the atmosphere. The staff was friendly and helpful. When talking with them I mentioned our day's plan and without me asking, they called down to the Banner Elk Chamber of Commerce to make sure our day's activities were still scheduled. It was a great place to make our "base of operations" venturing out to the surrounding attractions (Grandfather Mountain, Hiking, Blue Ridge Parkway, Free Concerts in Banner Elk, etc.). This may sound silly, but another attraction that we fell in love with was Kip, the hotel's lovable chocolate lab who was always happy to see us and ever appreciative of scratch behind the ear! My wife and I are already planning our next visit. We suggest the Archer's Inn to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    50
    18
    18
    13
See reviews for
31
116
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Archer Inn was the perfect little place for my family and friends. My wife and I took our newborn son back to my hometown in northeast Tennessee and found this place online that was close to my family but still a good little getaway in the mountains to stay. After visiting with family, we had two nights to stay at Archer Inn with two other couples that we knew. Upon arriving, we was greeted by the Inn pet Kip the chocolate lab. Kip and the staff treated us just like we were family visiting from the moment we walked into the lodge. We got ushered to our rustic little cozy room which had two beds, a little kitchen, but most importantly a fireplace. It just had that down home feel to it and reminded me of home. We spent the next two days hanging out with our friends and just enjoying the peace and quiet in the mountains. The Inn has a bar and restaurant with good food so if you don't want to go anywhere you don't have to leave the property which is a plus. Our last night there is started snowing which was awesome because it was our sons first official snow! We loved our stay at Archer Inn and will be back some day to visit. If you are thinking of going here you must have the right frame of mind going here to stay though! It is a rustic place with a country feel to it which we loved very much. When we left I wanted to take Kip the chocolate lab home. He came by our room just to see us both days. The day we left Kip was trying to block me from taking the bags to the car because he wanted someone to play in the snow with which was fun!! Thank you to the staff and Kip for our wonderful stay and hope to be back soon!!!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

It was the most beautiful little inn stuck up in the Blue Ridge Mountains! My future husband and I went on a birthday weekend get away and it was perfect! Burlene, the owner, was the sweetest and helped me plan out a ton of little surprises and things to be placed in the room each night we were there! She even lit the entire room with candles, started us a fire in the fireplace, and placed chocolate covered strawberries and a gift that I had sent, in the room ALL while we were out for dinner in the restaurant. The breakfast was phenomenal and everyone there was so sweet and helpful! Not only was the room HUGE but the room was clean the views were breathtaking! Waking up to the mountains right in front of your face is completely worth it!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

If you are with a group of guys for a ski bum weekend this will work. If you are with your wife, run from this and don't look back. The dinner, when the chef is on duty, is excellent. Good wine selection and freshly prepared dishes. The facility, however, is old, worn and repair is needed everywhere you look. The rooms have a musty, cabin like feel. The other guests you had best like, because you can see and hear them - on the deck, through the walls, east-west and north south. The setting has a marvelous view, but it is ruined by overlooking a busy road, with the trucks and motorcycles obviously gunning it to get up the mountain, making the noise even louder. A true mountain house is below, complete with baying hounds that sound off at all times of day and night. The biggest problem with this property is the feeling that whoever owns it simply does not care. There are rotting trees, empty gardens, peeling paint, sliding screens falling off and on and on. The staff is cordial but clearly not trained in the hospitality field. We went to breakfast in the morning, asked to sit outside and were told it was not open. We were the only ones there. Then, after sitting down, I kid you not, the next couple came in and were directed to the table next to ours, not more than two feet away. So weird it stunned as some sort of joke. We looked around a large room, empty except for the two couples. Nutty. Breakfast is not nearly the same quality as dinner. Grits were cold, toast was hard, orange juice was from concentrate, but the WORST coffee. You get a cheap feel with the creamers from Sam's club. There is a wonderful coffee shop in Banner Elk, with just a little effort the operator could buy fresh coffee, open up the deck and make breakfast enjoyable. Overall, we stayed two nights and I was ready to go. Tired of whispering and tired of looking at things where the owner/manager does not care to invest in the property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Me and my fiance had an awesome experience here. We camped in Boone the first night of our visit, and I proposed at sunrise, we stayed at Archers Inn the second night to celebrate, and it was PERFECT. We stayed in the Beech Room. It was so amazing. The room was massive, breakfast was huge, and delicious. The staff there is super friendly. They all love what they are doing and treat you like a real person, not just a customer. Archers Inn is the perfect place for the outdoorsy person (or couple) to upgrade from a tent for a few days but still enjoy a true mountain atmosphere.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms in Hawk's View are vaulted ceilings, and awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina, USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We had a great experience at Archers Inn. The owner and staff make you feel like family!
Loved the view from the big decks and the real rustic feel! The food is wonderful and the area has awesome trails for hiking, running or biking.We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

Great owner, very accommodating and friendly staff. A perfect relaxing retreat in the blue ridge mountains

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archers_Mountain_Inn, Owner at Archer's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We know we aren't the fanciest place but are grateful to be in a beautiful area and to be able to really enjoy all of our guests. Friend us on facebook to keep up with all of the activities of the inn, restaurant and area. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Archer's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archer's Mountain Inn

Address: 2489 Beech Mountain Parkway, Banner Elk, NC 28604
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jackalope's Mountain Lodge features fifteen hotel rooms with a fantastic restaurant and bar. Our lodge rooms are recently refreshed with all new 400 thread count sheets, towels, and Gilchrist and Soames amenities.Breakfast serviced IN YOUR ROOM, while you take in the mountain air on your decks....JOIN us at Jackalope's View restaurant "The Best Dining View in the Mountains" ; for the all new menu items and some of the old favorites.We also have several lovely cabins and vacation home rentals for rent.Our hotel and cabins are located on the side of Beech Mountain in the Blue Ridge Mountains of western North Carolina. We are close to three local ski resorts, hiking, shopping, and much more!Use the menu above to browse through our accommodations. Make Jackalope's Lodge and the View Restaurant on Beech Mountain your next mountain vacation destination.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Archer's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archer`s Mountain Hotel Banner Elk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archer's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.