We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice scenery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
1615 Tynecastle Hwy., Banner Elk, NC 28604-9708   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Banner Elk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

It was nice and clean but the beds were small and some of the things we asked for, they were out of them. Free breakfast was good but ran out of things to early, not enough help to maintain it I guess

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    60
    37
    11
    8
See reviews for
61
42
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It's been a while since I have stayed in a Best Western. I usually try to stay in Marriott properties but since Banner Elk is a very small place I really didn't have too many choices. I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel!


I have a long list of great things about this hotel:
-Although the rooms are outward facing it was actually very quiet
-The beds are so comfortable and provided a great night's sleep
-The bedding is new, not those old microfiber comforters- it's a duvet, which always feels cleaner
-The rooms are clean and spacious
-The TV is large and has a wide variety of channels along with a dvd player
-The staff is friendly and very helpful with recommendations and any advise
-It's within a very short distance to Sugar Mountain
-They use dispensers for the soap, shampoo, lotion, etc. I appreciate how eco-friendly this is!

Here are a few of the things I did not enjoy:
-The breakfast is horrible. Not only is the quality of the food poor but they ran out of food each morning with an hour still left of breakfast
-The attached restaurant (Inner Harbor) in general is very poor. DO NOT eat dinner there if you stay at this hotel. The service is poor, the food is bad quality and tastes horrible. I did find out that someone separate to the hotel runs the restaurant so that is not the Best Western's fault (if they owned it, this review would not be rated this high).
-There isn't a hot tub, which would've been nice after a long day on the slopes
-The outlets are very hard to reach to plug in your electronics


My boyfriend and I stayed 4 nights at this hotel for our snowboarding trip to Sugar Mountain. It was a good experience and I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There are no elevators so depending on how much luggage you have you may want to choose a 1st floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked at this location despite the poor reviews, because it is located so close to Sugar Mountain and this was only a two night trip. However, we were PLEASANTLY surprised by the QUALITY of the facilities and the EXCELLENT customer service of the staff. No noise from other rooms, abundant hot water in shower, breakfast buffet was better than most free meals, excellent coffee in room as well as coffee service from 6 AM 'til Midnight in lobby, fridge worked fine. Did any of those posting poor reviews report the problem to the staff? In the future, I will stay here every time we ski at Sugar Mountain!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We only spent one night-went up to Banner Elk to ski. This hotel is very close to the slopes. Nice enough. The staff were friendly. Free breakfast was pretty good. All in all a nice value and location is very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwbannerelk, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your response regarding our hotel. We are indeed very close to all area attractions including ski resorts, the Blue Ridge Parkway, great restaurants, etc. We take great pride in our guest service and the cleanliness of our hotel. We have just recently began including a hot buffet breakfast and we greatly appreciate the feedback. We appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

the good thing is this is located close to sugar mountain but that is it. the walls are thin, the tub backed up, the hot water ran out, the breakfast buffet was awful, and the rate was 125 for the night. They prey on the fact that it is close to the slop but it was NOT worth the money. Stay in Boone somewhere that is new and nice.

Room Tip: rooms with two beds are TINY
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwbannerelk, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your response regarding our hotel. I am upset to hear that your experience with us was not a great one. We take great pride in our guest service and the cleanliness of our hotel. Please know that if you ever have an issue during your stay with us, we want you to let us know so we can get it corrected for you while you are here. I hope that our maintenance staff was able to correct the issue you had with your bathtub. We have done several recent upgrades to our hotel including adding flat screen TV's to all rooms, adding a brand new fitness center and including a complimentary hot breakfast buffet. I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We take all feedback very seriously and we will do everything we can to make sure that your next stay with us is a great one. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to take care of you. If I can be of assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me at 828-898-4571.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.

Sincerely,

Shannon Wooten
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Walls too thin, showers backed up, coffee gross, fridge didnt work. But bed was pretty but uncomfortable, tv was good and location was awesome. Shower was warm and room was clean. Breakfast was ok but understaffed and a little cold.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwbannerelk, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much for completing a review on our hotel. I am upset to hear that your stay with us was not a great one. We take great pride in our guest service and the cleanliness of our hotel and we take all feedback very seriously. We want to do everything we can to make sure any issues you have with us are corrected so you will come back and see us in the future. We have just added new flat screen TV's to all rooms and new microwaves and refrigerators to several rooms. I hate to hear that you had trouble with your refrigerator and with your shower. Please know that we have a maintenace staff on hand to correct these issues while you are here. We never want you to have a problem during your stay and if you do, we want to correct it immediately. I would love the opportunity to discuss the issues you had with us over the phone in the hopes that we can make this right for you and you will come back to stay with us in the future. Please call me at 828-898-4571 at your convenience. We appreciate your business and we would love for you to give us another opportunity.

Sincerely,

Shannon Wooten
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Made our reservation based on Trip Advisor reviews so wanted to add another good one. The beds were awesome. New pillow tops and comfortable. Smoke free room was really smoke free. Monday breakfast was really good, Tuesdays was a little slim hard boiled eggs. I guess I'm being the ugly american. Staff really friendly and helpful. When we arrived the heat was out at check-in so breakfast was a little chilly Monday morning but they had it fixed before we left. FYI make the coffee in the room way better than coffee with breakfast. We were there to ski and the rooms fit the bill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge At Banner Elk Hotel Banner Elk
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge At Banner Elk Hotel
Best Western Banner Elk
Banner Elk Best Western
Address: 1615 Tynecastle Hwy., Banner Elk, NC 28604-9708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience outstanding customer service and convenient access to the Blue Ridge Mountains, Lee's McRae College and more at this pet-friendly Banner Elk, North Carolina hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk where guests will find friendly customer service, newly updated guest rooms and convenient access to a variety of Western North Carolina attractions. This Banner Elk area hotel boasts 100 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of a variety of hotel amenities including an seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry, fitness center, picnic area, business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 200 guests. The BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk is the only pet-friendly hotel in the area. Guests staying at this Blue Ridge Mountain hotel will have convenient access to a variety of outdoor activities including skiing and snowboarding at Sugar Mountain, hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains, horseback riding and golfing. Families visiting the area will enjoy spending the day at the Orchards at Alta Pass or the Tweetsie Railroad Amusement Park. Grandfather Mountain, just nine miles from the hotel, provides scenic nature trails and ideal picnic areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.