We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banner Elk Inn &Cottages is a fabulous place to stay in NC mountains!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages
Save
You added The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages to your Saves list
407 Main St. East, Banner Elk, Banner Elk, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florida
1 review
“Banner Elk Inn &Cottages is a fabulous place to stay in NC mountains!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My family,including 2 small grandsons and 2 dogs, and friend stayed in The Bark House cottage of the Banner Elk Inn, what a fabulous place..has a separate apt.with the main house...both have 2 bedr.and 2 baths, along with a new outside grill & picnic tables. We were there for 2 weeks, returning multiple times to this establishment. The Innkeeper is warm and friendly and it is one of the few places that accept pets. The grounds with a waterfall make for a lazy afternoon on the front porch. The weather was exceptional!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
50
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We recently had the good fortune of being introduced by friends of ours to this beautiful B&B, and attentive and considerate owner Beverly. We stayed three nights in the French Country Provincial cottage and found it to be impeccably furnished with every imaginable comfort. Examples include a sound system with sleep enhancing music (which we did not use because we preferred to fall asleep to the sound of the water feature in the garden) to a selection of great coffee beans ready to go into the grinder. The gardens were meticulously maintained and inspired us to stop by an area nursery before heading home. The clincher though, is Beverly. Her breakfasts are imaginative and delicious. (I suggest that you ask for the poached eggs on spinach and multigrain toast, served with smoked salmon and peach/mango salsa.) Beverly is a great conversationalist with captivating stories to tell.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonville SC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

This was our 4th visit to The Banner Elk Inn in the past 4 years. We have stayed in either the cottages or the Bark House and both are great. Beverly is a great hostess, inn keeper and makes wonderful breakfasts which are always a highlight of the day. She continues to make small improvements and adds additional comforts to the rooms. We highly recommend that you stay at the Banner Elk Inn.

David & Linda
Simpsonville SC

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro,North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

We first discovered this wonderful B&B several years ago and we keep returning because this little gem is simply the best. Quiet and tranquil, Beverly makes you feel so comfortable and relaxed it is really hard to leave. You are just minutes from Grandfather ,
Beech and Sugar mountains and some of the best fly fishing you'll find anywhere. We always have stayed in the original victorian house but Beverly has added two cottages and a wonderful rustic cabin, so next time we have to stay at the cabin. Once you have stayed at the Banner Elk B&B, you will return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

My husband and I have had the pleasure of visiting Banner Elk since 2001. We have always found the area to be tranquil and the weather is pleasing to us. We live in Asheville NC and it is always at least ten degrees cooler in Banner Elk in the summertime.
My son and I actually found the Banner Elk Inn in 2000. We needed a pet friendly environment while doing some skiing. We found the inn online and a few hours later we were meeting Beverly, the owner. She gave us a very warm welcome and a marvelous breakfast the next morning. It was such a lovely experience, I decided I wanted to share it with my husband and the next year we began visiting. To date, we have stayed in the Bark House several times and just recently, we stayed in the French Provencial suite.
In our opinion, it has all to do with Beverly and her vision of what a true inn should offer to guests---that being comfort, lovely surroundings, and feeling of family.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

We took a trip to the mountains for my husband's birthday so that we could relax and do some outdoorsy stuff (white water rafting, biking, etc). We got lost on the mountains on the way up (get directions from a real person and don't rely on GPS for this area!), so I called Beverly (owner) and told her we'd be in well after dark, so she prepared our room for us by putting the heating and lights on! What great personal attention! The attention clearly extended to the room (the Edwardian) which was elegantly decorated without being stuffy or overly antiquey as many B&B's are (though there were some beautiful antique pieces like an Edwardian lamp). The bed was incredibly soft (I have a bad back so I'm usually fussy about beds), the bath had a jetted tub with bath salts available, the kitchen was stocked with some homemade goodies (my husband loved the chocolaate chip cookies and banana bread) and coffee with a mini grinder, the CD player came with a wide selection of classical music (I'm a sucker for Bach and Tchaikovsky), the fireplace was so inviting, and the deck (on the duplex cabins) was gated in so the guests could bring their pets and they'd have their own little space to play outside. She seems to have thought of everything! Breakfast was delicious and all homemade--cottage cheese and raspberry/ blueberry pancakes, crunchy multigrain bread, bacon, and fruit all served on elegant china in her dining room. We felt really welcome and comfortable the entire time. I only wish we could stay for longer! The town is out of the way from bigger areas like Boone, but definitely worth the drive. The inn is in walking/biking distance of a park (with dog park and there were kiddie stuff there too) and some shops/ restaurants/ espresso bar. It's all very cute looking. I would recommend bringing a road bike to this area. Also, have dinner at the Mast Farm Inn--I have a review on this too. It's about a 15 minute drive away and so worth it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

The Banner Elk Inn sits about .3 miles from the main street in banner elk. Far enough away from the slopes but also close enough to dining. We enjoyed the loft room which has one sitting room connected to the bathroom. It's a tight fit getting up the stairs but worth the stay for a simple and fun room. The tub (in the room) is also something to think about while there which happens to also be your shower.

We booked very early but most people can get a reservation less than a month in advance.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages

Address: 407 Main St. East, Banner Elk, Banner Elk, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banner Elk Inn, B&B, Cottages, and Cabins -- a classic, Historic Inn, with 3 new luxurious cottages for two, a new Bark&Stone cabin for families and rental cabins. Winner of The People's Choice Award, #1 B&B in Avery County, the Inn offers perennial gardens/waterfalls & fountains/fireplaces/whirlpools/Private Baths/down comforters/cable TV/DVD library, snack bar & great breakfasts. Wireless available everywhere. In the heart of the High Country, near Grandfather Mountain, Sugar Ski Resort, Beech Mtn and Valle Crucis with easy level access. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.