We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly, very quiet and near lots of great restaurants in Banner Elk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages
Save Saved
You added The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages to your Saves list
407 Main St. East, Banner Elk, Banner Elk, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Monroe, NC
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly, very quiet and near lots of great restaurants in Banner Elk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were told of the Banner Elk Inn by friends and had the opportunity to visit the cottages at the Inn this week-end. We were not disappointed!! This is a very clean and updated cottage as well as it is pet friendly. There is a nice walking trail beside a beautiful brook that leads to a nice dog park. We also think they have the best coffee in Banner Elk...Beverly, the Innkeeper was a joy to get to know and went our of her way to make our trip special. You owe it to yourself to check out this place. We will be back...

Room Tip: Try the blue cottage..It is nice and bright!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
44
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Banner Elk Inn has everything you could possibly wish for to have the perfect get-away. Nestled in the mountains of Banner Elk, the grounds are a lovely blend of beautiful flowers and natural greenery. The Innkeeper has developed a very pleasing and peaceful setting to surround the Inn itself.
And once inside, you are surrounded with elegant charm as well as everything you need to make your stay a very pleasant, enjoyable experience. Great care is taken to provide for your comfort and pleasure in every detail from your room to you meals. And best of all the Inn Keeper, Beverly Lait, is such a pleasure to meet and get to know. She strives to make sure her guests are happy with their stay with her, and will be anxious to return again.

I consider The Banner Elk Inn a wonderful place to stay for that very special get-away, or for just a relaxing vacation with family and friends.

Room Tip: The cottages are wonderful for those who desire more privacy. However as a single adult, I really e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have stayed at The Banner Elk many times since it first opened, and have consistently been delighted with the beautiful setting of the Inn, it's Cabin and Cottages. It's the ideal place for rest and relaxation. The rooms and bathrooms are always immaculately clean, and the bedding feels so comfortable as if sleeping on a cloud. The Innkeeper, Beverly, is most welcoming, without being intrusive. She also provides a delightful breakfast including homemade pancakes, which are a feast for your senses.
Whenever we travel through the Carolina's we include a stay at the Banner Elk Inn because it provides the home-away-from home atmosphere, and then some.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite with our kids and had plenty of room. The house is charming and amazingly quiet (all rooms were filled while we were there). Beverly is a lovely hostess and is able to walk that fine line of being very hospitable and yet not at all intrusive. The breakfast was very nice; the kids loved the food. She was accommodating to our schedules for breakfast times and also made a special dish for me when she learned I am a vegetarian. In addition to a nice breakfast, there were always baked goods available including the most delicious and addictive almond biscotti. We will certainly be staying here again on our next trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have stayed in quite a few B & B's and not only accommodations but service here second to none! We've visited 3 times; once in the Bark House Cabin and twice in the cottages. Never have we seen such a place so nice with every little detail so beautifully placed, knowing the guest was a priority! Beverly is a TOP NOTCH hostess and wonderful cook! Looking forward to returning soon to Banner Elk and staying with Beverly and maybe getting some of her famous pancakes and all the amenities that come along with staying at Banner Elk B&B!!! Highly recommend! Brent and Pamela Shields

Room Tip: Any room at Beverly's is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Beverly's charming cottage on our honeymoon. She was a very gracious hostess and our cottage had more accommodations than we could have asked for! The bed was luxurious - lots of pillows and a cozy duvet cover! - and we really enjoyed using the Jacuzzi and fireplace. We both hated to leave and will be back as soon as we can. Beverly is the greatest!

Room Tip: Highly recommend renting a private cottage for a relaxing getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Honestly, I don't know where to begin. The Bark House was amazing. Our family decided to take a last minute vacation for Christmas week and to our favor Banner Elk Inn had a cancellation. We're so glad we decided to go. My children were thrilled to experience a white Christmas. The cabin was absolutely spotless. Very cozy and in my opinion better the the Four Seasons. Beverley was very helpful and accommodating as we wanted to check in early. The cabin has many amenities that we didn't even expect. Words can't explain how wonderful this vacation was. The entire community was just amazing. We cooked in our cabin most of the time but decide to go out to eat our last night and went to Stone Wall. The service was amazing. We skied 2 days on Sugar Mountain and it was a quick 10 minute drive. This cabin in is a perfect location. High recommend. Thank you Beverley!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages

Address: 407 Main St. East, Banner Elk, Banner Elk, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banner Elk Inn, B&B, Cottages, and Cabins -- a classic, Historic Inn, with 3 new luxurious cottages for two, a new Bark&Stone cabin for families and rental cabins. Winner of The People's Choice Award, #1 B&B in Avery County, the Inn offers perennial gardens/waterfalls & fountains/fireplaces/whirlpools/Private Baths/down comforters/cable TV/DVD library, snack bar & great breakfasts. Wireless available everywhere. In the heart of the High Country, near Grandfather Mountain, Sugar Ski Resort, Beech Mtn and Valle Crucis with easy level access. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.