We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No bueno!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Nuevo Restaurant

Puerto Nuevo Restaurant
2120 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604
(828) 898 3332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 40 restaurants in Banner Elk
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No bueno!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Food was terrible.....manager did not seem to care....will not go back....When my wife asked on of the help staff,,,he said he did not eat there either....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    46
    29
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
STALEY,NC
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“First time and not our last!! Amazing food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went here for the first time over the weekend with my hubby. I ordered the chicken burrito/enchilada combo and hubby got the fried chicken burrito, Both were amazing. My hubby's was covered with queso OOohhh so gooood!! Handmade guacamole made tableside.The salsa chips and everything was tops. Will eat here every time we are in town. ;+)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

On vacation, we went for the first time and the food was great. Wonderful atmosphere, quick seating. The guacamole dip was prepared fresh at our table and was delicious. So good we went back later in the week for a 2nd dinner. Definitely a do over.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No fuera de este mundo...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure what all the hype is about. Perhaps it's because I went for lunch rather than dinner, but I ate a rather bland crunchy taco, a rather bland enchilada, and quite literally a puddle of refried beans. I don't mean to be crude, but honestly Taco Bell has better flavor. This was not worth the trip. There's nothing authentic about the food, the ambience is so-so, and the service was downright rude.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food at a Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

You must start with the fresh guacamole- made exactly how you like at your table. We dine at this restaurant several times each year during our stay in the Boone, Blowing Rock and Banner Elk area. The food is always delicious (mostly order the combination dinners). I ordered the oyster poor boy sandwich at our last visit. It was excellent ....about 8 large oysters on french bread with onion, lettuce, avocado, plus fries. If you shop at the local Lowes Foods , you should receive a coupon for 10% off the total check. Even without the 10% coupon, the food is very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Nuevo Restaurant also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Puerto Nuevo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Nuevo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.