We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tears of Joy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Nuevo Restaurant

Puerto Nuevo Restaurant
2120 Tynecastle Hwy, Suite 1, Banner Elk, NC 28604
(828) 898 3332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 45 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tears of Joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Authentic Spicy Mexican in North Carolina I didn't think it could ever be true. I gave up years ago on the idea and settled into the bland reality that is most mexican restaurants. I grew up in Arizona and have not had great mexican food since I left. I ordered Chile Relleno which is never a fresh pepper at most restaurant, let alone actually a pablano. I was so excited and surprised, It reminded me of home. I can't wait to go back and try tamales! The place looks great, beautiful restaurant with an industrial coziness, modern and clean, yet warm. Great prices $22 for lunch - 2 soft drinks, Chorizo queso app, Huevos Ranchero and Chile Relleno + tax. Tequila prices were good but it was lunch so I steered clear. Can't wait to visit again, definitely going to put this place into my Rotation.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    45
    17
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Upscale restaurant without the prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This place has been wonderful in both my experiences there. Large portions, fully stocked (albeit unutilized) bar. large dining area to help alleviate waiting list on busier weekends. Best Mexican and suprisingly great seafood also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackshear, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great fajitas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

The fajitas here are great, but high in sodium. They include beef, chicken, pork, and a skewer of shrimp. The other meals we've tried were too salty. The place gets crowded, so go early if you like Mexican food and can tolerate the salt.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Really Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We passed Puerto Nuevo on our way back to our hotel and "seafood" sounded good so we came back to eat. Place was packed and the lines went on forever, but true to their word we were seated in 15-20 minutes. Corn chips were hot and fresh. They were out of oysters. We had carne asada, fish tacos, 2 combo meals -- they were all delicious. We had 4 margaritas (asked them to serve a more generous serving of alcohol on the second round) and 4 iced teas for the kids. For dessert we shared fried ice cream and churros. The bill came to about $100. Service was fast and friendly.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Consistancy, quality, and quantity, this place has got it all for the right price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Being from Texas I was really missing good tex-mex when I moved here several years ago. Sure there were "mexican" restaurants but none that I actually liked. I love puerto nuevo, they have good tex-mex for a good price and they have some of the friendliest most helpful staff in town. Gone'git there an have a carta blanca and an order'a chiles pablanos for me! In case you're confused that's texas talk for I'm craving some Puerto Nuevo!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Nuevo Restaurant also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Puerto Nuevo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Nuevo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.