We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Beautiful Day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Mountain Expeditions

High Mountain Expeditions
3149 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604
800-262-9036
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Banner Elk
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to High Mountain Expeditions. We are located in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, with two locations to serve you in Boone and Banner Elk, North Carolina. High Mountain Expeditions offers outdoor activities, such as whitewater rafting, caving, and hiking for every member of your group or family.The team at High Mountain Expeditions invites you to join us in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains on one of our many outdoor adventures.
Alachua, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Beautiful Day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The morning temp. was brisk & cool. We were initially concerned that the air temperature and the water temperature would be to cold for everyone. The twisting & turning transport ride on the short bus was almost as hair raising as the level 3 & 4's white water river ride that we encountered. It was so much fun and great sandwich type lunch that was provide. Thanks for the memories.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    13
    2
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Follansbee, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Whitewater Rafting on the Wataugua!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This could have been just an average trip down a river with class I-III rapids. But the tour guides from the High Mountain Expeditions made it fun, exciting, and above all, memorable. From the bus ride of jokes to water fights in the lazy parts of the river, we were smiling and laughing the whole time. They were both helpful and personable. If you decide to take any adventure (caves, skiing, rafting, tubing, etc.) around this area, you MUST go with High Mountain Expeditions. Whether as a couple (like we did) or as a family with children of all ages (as many others did), this is an adventure you don't want to take with any other companyt!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Excellent intro to Whitewater !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Have taken the Watauga River rafting trip many times with family. This time (8-2013) we brought a friend (14 female) who had never done it before. She can't stop talking about it, It is more awesome every time ! Staff is top notch, and very accomodating . If you are visiting the area, Go !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great first outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Loved the Watauga River white water rafting trip we took on July 20th. It was great for a first try at white water rafting. Our 13 year old loved it, especially all the water gun shooting. Great guides who made the made entertaining. Would definitely go again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome, family friendly, well planned whitewater rafting trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This organization lived up to it's advertised trip and then some! The guides were well trained, knowledgable, funny and highly accommodating! It was an awesome first time rafting trip for our group! Will definitely be using them next visit!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Mountain Expeditions also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to High Mountain Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Mountain Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.