We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Comfy and Relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Perry House Bed & Breakfast

The Perry House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Perry House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Perry House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
153 Klonteska Drive, Banner Elk, NC 28604-2512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Warm, Comfy and Relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We looked into the Perry House for a quick overnight to enjoy a short weekend trip of skiing. It was such a nice touch to arrive and see our names on the Chalkboard welcoming us. The decor was still winter-themed with lots of snowmen (my favorite). And who could have asked for better with snow coming down the two days we were there. The accommodations were a value for the price. Breakfast was very good, and the fellowship with other guests was fantastic. You are within walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. Sugar Mountain and Beech Mountain are a short drive away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back soon. PS: Dunn's Deli is yummy and just down the street from the inn. Thanks Robin and Mike, we will return soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
43
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solomons, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We considered ourselves fortunate to be able to book a room at the Perry House, given MLK weekend. Atmosphere and food were terrific. Robin and Mike were delightful, and we had as much fun meeting and talking with the other guests as we did doing other things in town. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I really liked this B&B. They did a good job adjusting their breakfast for my husband who is gluten and cheese free. Normally, we don't care too much about restaurants but this one was within walking distance of several. We enjoyed the snacks and wine they kept stocked in the den. Great for sitting on the big porch and snacking while winding down. I'm very picky about a clean place and this one was. Not fancy but clean and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Perry house B&B is close to everything in banner Elk. You can walk to the shops and restaurants. Mike and Robin make you feel like family coming for a visit. We stayed in the Betsy room with a queen bed and a view of the town and a view of Grandfather mountain in the distance. The hosts leave candy and nuts for you to have and water and soda in the fridge. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and hot cider are always available and always a nice btrakfast in the morning

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at The Perry House. It has an excellent location- within walking distance to numerous restaurants and across the street from Lees-McRae College. Mike and Robin were so easy to talk with and made you feel like family. The room was very quiet and spacious with a nice bed. We had walked to an excellent tapas restaurant recommended by Mike and got caught in a tremendous rainstorm when we were done. Robin braved the storm and the night to come to our rescue. Need we say more about how wonderful and welcoming Mike and Robin are. We love the town of Banner Elk and will be back and will definitely be staying at The Perry House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Perry House about 1/2 dozen times this year. Robin and Mike are so welcoming. They (and their sweet dog, Guiness) made us feel like we were part of their family. The location is excellent. We were within walking distance of all the great restaurants in Banner Elk and, sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch, we could relax while watching the world go by. The breakfasts were delicious and we never had the same one twice! Wonderful casseroles, fruit, breads, etc. Robin and Mike were very flexible with our schedules, even getting up very early one morning to make sure we were fed before we had to leave. Also loved the little extras; water bottles in the refrigerator, snacks and chocolate always sitting out and coffee, tea and hot chocolate ready to be brewed. I would highly recommend the Perry House. And, if you're looking for the best reuben sandwich in town, go to Dunn's Deli at the bottom of the hill. Robin and Mike run that too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Perry House was a perfect home base for a five-day hiking vacation. Robin and Mike were warm and gracious hosts, without hovering over us. Our room (the Betsy Room) was comfortable, and we enjoyed having a view of the town from our front window. Since there was no refrigerator in our room, they let us keep the snacks we'd brought in their fridge - but as it turned out there were many snacks, as well as coffee and cold drinks, available all the time in the inn.

Robin cooked delectable breakfasts three of the mornings we were there, served family-style, which I appreciate, as I'm watching my weight and would rather not feel pressured to "clean my plate." The other two mornings we walked down the hill to Dunn's Deli, where Mike cooked our breakfasts to order. I recommend his French toast! On those mornings we were free to eat whenever we chose.

The location is excellent - central to lots of wonderful hikes. Grandfather Mountain, Beech Mountain, Sugar Mountain, and the Blue Ridge Parkway are all short drives away. If you want to go just slightly farther, just past Boone, try the Elk Knob Trail for a beautifully constructed trail with fabulous views at the top. There are plenty of restaurants a short walk away - we enjoyed Blue Ridge Bistro, Zuzda, and Frog and Monkey. But don't forget Dunn's Deli for lunch - Mike's homemade soups are outstanding.

All in all this was a wonderful vacation, in great part because of the Perry House. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Perry House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Perry House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 153 Klonteska Drive, Banner Elk, NC 28604-2512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Perry House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.