We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect home-away-from-home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
149 Azalea Circle, P.O. Box 1538, Banner Elk, NC 28604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect home-away-from-home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We found the Azalea Inn just driving through Banner Elk looking for a place to spend the night on a road trip. We loved it so much we spent another night. There are cozy rooms upstairs in the main house but we opted for one of the one-bedroom units out back. Full kitchen, living room, very comfortable bed, big bathroom with big whirlpool bathtub and separate shower. We could have moved in for the month. Frank and Karen are both very nice and perfect hosts. The breakfast was delicious and just enough - more than pastries and coffee but not some elaborate buffet. Located across the street from good restaurants. We are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: We were in the Eagle, overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    7
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This was our 3rd visit with Frank and Karen. (they are so friendly you think you are visiting long time friends) The Rooms, Breakfast, location and over all beauty of the Azalea Inn itself,is the making of a great get away to relax and chill!
We will be going back more often now that retirement is my full time "work"

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

The Azalea is one of the most perfectly relaxing places in the North Carolina mountains you could ever want to find. It's unusual to say everything about our stay was perfect, but it truly was. From the beautiful flowers everywhere you looked, to the immaculate and charming rooms, there was nothing that was lacking to please the most discerning traveler. Can't wait till the next time!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My husband and I spent this past weekend at the Azalea Inn B&B and we will definitely return. The innkeepers were very attentive to every detail from the lovely grounds to the immaculately clean room. Breakfast exceeded our expectations! Located right in the town of Banner Elk, we walked to dinner just a block over at the wonderful Banner Elk Cafe...one of the restaurants recommended by the innkeeper.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The owners Frank and Karen are back from a 2 year mission trip to Tanzania. The inn and grounds are immaculate and charming and well situated in the heart of Banner Elk.
We got to see many of the rooms in the main building as it was a quiet Sunday night just before the summer season. All are quite nice and we chose Ivy but all are fine the only difference being that some did not offer an en-suite bath.
Breakfast is at 8:30 am and perfectly turned out by Frank, USMC-Ret.
Like staying at your aunt and uncle's in the mountains!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spent Fri and Sat eve at this B&B while in Banner Elk. Amy was very accommodating on the phone when making the booking, and both she and Greg were welcoming when we got there. Facility was basic in its charm but homey and clean, and we felt we got value for our money. Located right in the heart of Banner Elk so everything is within walking distance. We mentioned we wanted to attend a local theater production on Sat eve, and Amy produced a discount coupon for us. Breakfast was also basic (pancakes/french toast, sausage links, juice, and coffee) but adequate. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife booked this as it comes up as no1 in the B and B category and the area hotel reviews were not great.I notice the last posted review was Feb 2013. Things have changed since that review and as it stands I could not recommend this Inn.The owners have leased it to a couple who also manage another establishment,hopefully better than this one.We were left in this inn which has lost all of the charms it had 30 years ago,it was a ghost inn,and the descptions on the web site are totally erroneous and I shall be taking them to task. The telephones do not work there was no hair dryers I checked in all 7 rooms and we were presented with a 6 dollar each voucher for breakfast as the cook was not available,where can you get breakfast for 6 dollars,I am not going to McDonalds.An awful experience you would not have stayed a second night.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Owner at Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We are very sorry that you had a bad experience at Azalea Inn B&B. We, the owners, have returned from our 2 year mission experience in East Africa. We were very surprised to learn that the people who were working here did not prepare breakfast for guests and did not maintain the property. The inn was closed all winter while we did maintenance,painting, updating bathrooms, etc. We are sorry that they weren't even in the building to give you a hair dryer or anything else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 149 Azalea Circle, P.O. Box 1538, Banner Elk, NC 28604
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Azalea Inn is one of the best known B&Bs in the Highcountry and has more rooms than any other. With a history that dates back to the 60's and a main house build in 1937. The property has a great history. The innkeepers, Frank and Karen purchased the property in January 1998; and after living in Tanzania, East Africa, as missionaries during 2012 and 2013 are happy to be back at Azalea Inn B&B. We look forward to welcoming you to our special B&B. Life is Good. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.