We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   149 Azalea Circle, P.O. Box 1538, Banner Elk, NC 28604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Solomons, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spent Fri and Sat eve at this B&B while in Banner Elk. Amy was very accommodating on the phone when making the booking, and both she and Greg were welcoming when we got there. Facility was basic in its charm but homey and clean, and we felt we got value for our money. Located right in the heart of Banner Elk so everything is within walking distance. We mentioned we wanted to attend a local theater production on Sat eve, and Amy produced a discount coupon for us. Breakfast was also basic (pancakes/french toast, sausage links, juice, and coffee) but adequate. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    7
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife booked this as it comes up as no1 in the B and B category and the area hotel reviews were not great.I notice the last posted review was Feb 2013. Things have changed since that review and as it stands I could not recommend this Inn.The owners have leased it to a couple who also manage another establishment,hopefully better than this one.We were left in this inn which has lost all of the charms it had 30 years ago,it was a ghost inn,and the descptions on the web site are totally erroneous and I shall be taking them to task. The telephones do not work there was no hair dryers I checked in all 7 rooms and we were presented with a 6 dollar each voucher for breakfast as the cook was not available,where can you get breakfast for 6 dollars,I am not going to McDonalds.An awful experience you would not have stayed a second night.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Owner at Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We are very sorry that you had a bad experience at Azalea Inn B&B. We, the owners, have returned from our 2 year mission experience in East Africa. We were very surprised to learn that the people who were working here did not prepare breakfast for guests and did not maintain the property. The inn was closed all winter while we did maintenance,painting, updating bathrooms, etc. We are sorry that they weren't even in the building to give you a hair dryer or anything else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Quaint, clean, super friendly and fabulous location. In the heart of Banner Elk, minutes walk to restaurants and shops.

Amy and Greg were great full of interesting conversation and local advice as well as making us feel very much at home for our week long stay.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Me and my fiancee traveled here to get away and spend some time in the mountains. We had the pleasure of staying in the Fox cabin. We were very comfortable the entire stay as it was snowing the whole time. The cabin was warm and cozy. Both the fireplace and the jacuzzi tub helped keep the chill away!

We were blown away as soon as we walked in by the amounts of foxes that were hidden around the cabin!! It was so much fun looking at all the stuff. The cabin was beautiful and well kept. The main house was very quaint and we truly enjoyed the quiet and comfort of sitting and sipping tea by the fire.

Room Tip: The only room/cabin I can comment on was the Fox. It was perfect for the two of us with a king size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Azalea Bed and Breakfast while in the beautiful Banner Elk mountainous area of North Carolina. The house is a charming historic house. The property managers Greg and Amy were very welcoming, and open with the house. Our room was quiet, with a gorgeous private bathroom and a historic (clawfoot?) bathtub. We walked 1/4 block that night to and from an excellent local restaurant. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and just what we needed. Greg and Amy took care of a few special requests for us, and were very accommodating. The pricing was in-line with other places in the area. We have already recommended the Azalea Bed and Breakfast to several others. Sincerely, David (Lake Wylie, SC)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We originally wanted to stay at the Banner Elk winery and Villas but it was booked solid. We happened upon the Azalea Inn online and it was great. We had the Rooster Cottage for 2 nights and I could have stayed longer. The cottage was great and had that "winter skiing feel" to it that we wanted. The fireplace downstairs in the cottage was wonderful to have considering it snowed the whole time we were there and temps never got above 30 degrees (perfect ski weather) The Inn is within very close walking distance to several restaurants and Amy can give great info on all of them. Also it's very close to Sugar Mountain only about a mile or two away. There are a few other large cottages right next to the inn and also rooms in the inn that are cheaper.

Room Tip: Cottages are great if you want lots of space and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Azeala Inn B and B for three nights. Amy and Greg were outstanding! They made sure we had everything we needed and helped us decide the best place to ski with the kids. We had such a fantastic time! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 149 Azalea Circle, P.O. Box 1538, Banner Elk, NC 28604
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Azalea Inn is one of the best known B&Bs in the Highcountry and has more rooms than any other. With a history that dates back to the 60's and a main house build in 1937. The property has a great history. The innkeepers, Frank and Karen purchased the property in January 1998; and after living in Tanzania, East Africa, as missionaries during 2012 and 2013 are happy to be back at Azalea Inn B&B. We look forward to welcoming you to our special B&B. Life is Good. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.