We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back to a simpler place and time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   68 Seven Springs Drive, Balsam, NC 28707   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Balsam B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A trip back to a simpler place and time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I enjoy historic hotels and always seek them out in my travels. This one does not dissappoint and if you are interested

in learning more about this gem log onto their website and learns its history. I think that inns owner has incredible

passion in her vision for this grand place and I wish contiued success in her vision for the inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    74
    17
    11
    8
See reviews for
31
107
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We used our Living Social Voucher for children free quiet time. We really enjoyed the peacefulness at the Balsam Mountain Inn. Chef Phil prepared the best ribeye and trout dinners on both nights.

Confession: We missed TV a little because the NFL playoff games were and we couldn't find a place in Waynesville to watch. But, that didn't last long, with the access of WiFi we just watched a movie instead.

If you are a low maintenance traveler, this is a great place.

Room Tip: Be prepared to be very quiet. Top floors aren't recommended for active couples. You can hear eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Using a 2 day Groupon getaway at this lovely 100 year old Inn, traveled with my elderly wheelchair bound Mother-very clean and comfortable room, delicious dining, and friendly staff. Didn't even miss the TV's. Enjoyed a day trip to lovely Waynesville. All in all a very good experience.If traveling with elderly make sure you call in advance and let them know-so they can provide best accommodation. Wheelchair ramp is behind building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Tennessee
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a truly historic property that the past and present owners have really given a great service to our citizens by maintaining and preserving this elegant railroad depo mountain inn in Balsam. Clearly some modern plumbing and other upgrades have been added without giving up too much of the historic nature and charm of such a classic guest inn that was state of the art in it's day. Point being- if you expect the Biltmore or Grove Park, then you should keep traveling down the road another hour and you will find more modern luxury to suit your expecations.
The Balsam Mountain Inn is located by the railroad and served as a luxury mountain getaway back in the day of rail travel. The Inn sits atop a mountain looking over a few small buildings of Balsam and into the deep green forests of the NC mountains. The drive up to the Inn is easy and a improved gravel road. Plenty of parking except when the inn is full. There are three floors with the reception desk and arts and crafts gift shop, common areas and dining areas on the first floor along with some guest rooms. Most guest rooms are up the classic ole stairs or added elevator to the guest rooms on various wings of the inn. Wide hallways, high ceilings, classic woodworks show the true craftsmen of the period that this inn was built.
The rooms are average to large size with a small bathroom that has been built for each room. There are sitting areas in the room and widows for mountain air-conditioning.
Breakfast is usually part of the fare and is served in the smaller dining area looking east or the large dining hall reception area on the west side of the inn. Breakfast was good and service was good if not at the peak period of service.
Innkeepers were very nice and helpful. We have stayed here before and really enjoy this classic old inn but we know what we should expect in historic old inns.
The location in Balsam is ideal for visiting the GSMNP or the Blue Ridge Parkway. We have always enjoyed Waynesville, Dillsboro, Sylva and the other surrounding small towns for events, dining and shopping.
In summary, if you arrive with the understanding that you are staying in an old state of the art for it's day of railroad mountain inns, then you will have a good experience. If you need television, airconditioning, video games, etc or luxury services, then this is not the place for you. However, if you love sitting on a long and classic front porch in comfortable rocking chairs and watching the mist pass through the mountains awaiting the sun rise or the light of the full moon, then this place will stay with you in that most peaceful and reflective part of you.

Room Tip: Different rooms for different price ranges. Ask to see a room before choosing if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went to this place in January on a 2 night Groupon. What a mistake! The ceiling of the room had cracks in it, the bathroom sink was ancient with rust stains, there were stains on the towels and the bathroom was barely big enough to turn around in. I guess this is someone's idea of "rustic".
The first morning they served pancakes which were ice cold.
But the worst moment was the second night/morning. During the night, the heat to the entire building went off. The over night temperature was 22 degrees. There also was no hot water in the shower or sink. Upon check out the manager said the natural gas tank which supplies the boiler was empty. He blamed the problem on the gas delivery guy who forgot to deliver the gas. That may be true, but it is still the Inn's responsibility to monitor the gas supply in their tanks.
I requested a partial refund for the second night and the manager refused. He had an attitude like "it was my problem".
With the Groupon, this place was about $85 per night. The normal rate is an unbelievable $140 per night. Even with no problems, this place is way over priced and way over rated.
If you want to stay in this area go to Asheville (30 miles away) where $140 will get you a really nice room including heat and hot water!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Okay, going to a historic country inn might be gamble. The place could be incredible or not so much. Well, the Balsam Mountain Inn and Restaurant, located near the crest of the Appalachia mountain range in North Carolina is pretty close to incredible. It's one of those century old inns built for those wishing to escape the summer heat. Visitors used to arrive by railroad and today an occasional freight train still passes nearby with the nostalagic sound echoing across the pine covered mountain valley. The restored inn looks great and is well maintained. The rooms are mostly original, with bathrooms added. The beds are comfy. Our standard room wasn't luxurious but it was clean and pleasing. Outside the rooms, large hallways, banister staircases, and balconies are interesting to wander through. The biggest surprise is the restaurant, which is five star quality both for food and ambience. Their wine selection is outstanding. In May during our visit, locals from the surrounding areas fill the restaurant for Sunday Brunch. In April, the hills are full of wildflowers (we missed that). The Blue Ridge Parkway is just minutes away and the historic towns of Sylva and Waynesville are are just down the mountain.

Room Tip: We paid a reduced "special" rate for a standard room. However, to maximize the Victorian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Enjoyed dinner last night at the Balsam Mountain Inn. Each of our meals was prepared perfectly - which says quite a bit for the group I was with! Be sure to try the trout dip - a very yummy way to start! Before dinner we enjoyed relaxing in the lobby and our 5 year old got into the fun by helping a young couple work a puzzle - a great spot to enjoy some old fashion family time!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

Address: 68 Seven Springs Drive, Balsam, NC 28707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Balsam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balsam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Read, rest, ramble and romp at the Balsam Mountain Inn! Nestled among lofty Smoky Mountain peaks just off the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Balsam Mountain Inn was completed in 1908 to serve the highest railway depot in the east. Restored in 1991, the inn now welcomes travelers with 50 cheerful rooms, rocker-filled porches, a fine library and gracious dining. Plump pillows and soft comforters inspire pleasant dreams! In December, 2011, the Inn came once again to be owned by Merrily Teasley, the innkeeper who restored the structure two decades ago. An experienced rescuer of wonderful buildings, Teasley bought the derelict inn in 1990, and her certified rehabilitation effort helped the inn – already on the National Historic Register – experience a rebirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant Hotel Balsam
Balsam Mountain Inn And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.