We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and well preserved depo mountain inn.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balsam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
68 Seven Springs Drive, Balsam, NC 28707   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Balsam B&B and Inns
East Tennessee
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Historic and well preserved depo mountain inn.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a truly historic property that the past and present owners have really given a great service to our citizens by maintaining and preserving this elegant railroad depo mountain inn in Balsam. Clearly some modern plumbing and other upgrades have been added without giving up too much of the historic nature and charm of such a classic guest inn that was state of the art in it's day. Point being- if you expect the Biltmore or Grove Park, then you should keep traveling down the road another hour and you will find more modern luxury to suit your expecations.
The Balsam Mountain Inn is located by the railroad and served as a luxury mountain getaway back in the day of rail travel. The Inn sits atop a mountain looking over a few small buildings of Balsam and into the deep green forests of the NC mountains. The drive up to the Inn is easy and a improved gravel road. Plenty of parking except when the inn is full. There are three floors with the reception desk and arts and crafts gift shop, common areas and dining areas on the first floor along with some guest rooms. Most guest rooms are up the classic ole stairs or added elevator to the guest rooms on various wings of the inn. Wide hallways, high ceilings, classic woodworks show the true craftsmen of the period that this inn was built.
The rooms are average to large size with a small bathroom that has been built for each room. There are sitting areas in the room and widows for mountain air-conditioning.
Breakfast is usually part of the fare and is served in the smaller dining area looking east or the large dining hall reception area on the west side of the inn. Breakfast was good and service was good if not at the peak period of service.
Innkeepers were very nice and helpful. We have stayed here before and really enjoy this classic old inn but we know what we should expect in historic old inns.
The location in Balsam is ideal for visiting the GSMNP or the Blue Ridge Parkway. We have always enjoyed Waynesville, Dillsboro, Sylva and the other surrounding small towns for events, dining and shopping.
In summary, if you arrive with the understanding that you are staying in an old state of the art for it's day of railroad mountain inns, then you will have a good experience. If you need television, airconditioning, video games, etc or luxury services, then this is not the place for you. However, if you love sitting on a long and classic front porch in comfortable rocking chairs and watching the mist pass through the mountains awaiting the sun rise or the light of the full moon, then this place will stay with you in that most peaceful and reflective part of you.

Room Tip: Different rooms for different price ranges. Ask to see a room before choosing if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    60
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
27
93
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went to this place in January on a 2 night Groupon. What a mistake! The ceiling of the room had cracks in it, the bathroom sink was ancient with rust stains, there were stains on the towels and the bathroom was barely big enough to turn around in. I guess this is someone's idea of "rustic".
The first morning they served pancakes which were ice cold.
But the worst moment was the second night/morning. During the night, the heat to the entire building went off. The over night temperature was 22 degrees. There also was no hot water in the shower or sink. Upon check out the manager said the natural gas tank which supplies the boiler was empty. He blamed the problem on the gas delivery guy who forgot to deliver the gas. That may be true, but it is still the Inn's responsibility to monitor the gas supply in their tanks.
I requested a partial refund for the second night and the manager refused. He had an attitude like "it was my problem".
With the Groupon, this place was about $85 per night. The normal rate is an unbelievable $140 per night. Even with no problems, this place is way over priced and way over rated.
If you want to stay in this area go to Asheville (30 miles away) where $140 will get you a really nice room including heat and hot water!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Okay, going to a historic country inn might be gamble. The place could be incredible or not so much. Well, the Balsam Mountain Inn and Restaurant, located near the crest of the Appalachia mountain range in North Carolina is pretty close to incredible. It's one of those century old inns built for those wishing to escape the summer heat. Visitors used to arrive by railroad and today an occasional freight train still passes nearby with the nostalagic sound echoing across the pine covered mountain valley. The restored inn looks great and is well maintained. The rooms are mostly original, with bathrooms added. The beds are comfy. Our standard room wasn't luxurious but it was clean and pleasing. Outside the rooms, large hallways, banister staircases, and balconies are interesting to wander through. The biggest surprise is the restaurant, which is five star quality both for food and ambience. Their wine selection is outstanding. In May during our visit, locals from the surrounding areas fill the restaurant for Sunday Brunch. In April, the hills are full of wildflowers (we missed that). The Blue Ridge Parkway is just minutes away and the historic towns of Sylva and Waynesville are are just down the mountain.

Room Tip: We paid a reduced "special" rate for a standard room. However, to maximize the Victorian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Enjoyed dinner last night at the Balsam Mountain Inn. Each of our meals was prepared perfectly - which says quite a bit for the group I was with! Be sure to try the trout dip - a very yummy way to start! Before dinner we enjoyed relaxing in the lobby and our 5 year old got into the fun by helping a young couple work a puzzle - a great spot to enjoy some old fashion family time!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Inn is absolutely beautiful this time of year. Philip the chef does a magnificent job and food is sumptuous. The rooms are very spacious. Make the most of the holiday and stay in a local treasure. The views from the top of the mountain are painterly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A great getaway for the Holiday Season. It’s an Old Fashion Christmas for sure. It’s a step back in time with all the sights and sounds you would expect with an Inn that has been around 100 years. It is the perfect environment for conversation around the fireplace and for me that is a good thing. I had the opportunity to bring friends on this trip and they all had a wonderful time and say they can’t wait to come back. The food is great and it seems to be one of those places that people celebrate special occasions. Yes I will return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different from small to really large. The corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, MD
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked a weekend through Groupon as we were going to be in the area anyway. My wife was put off by no AC, but it worked out just fine. The hotel is old but not run down. The rooms are very dated and the bathrooms are small, but overall we enjoyed our time there. Sitting out on the 2nd floor balcony and reading as the sunset was worth the whole weekend.
The restaurant was the biggest surprise as it was a gourmet experience. We ate both nights there as it was so delicious. (also very inexpensive).
I'll never forget walking in the lobby when we arrived & the smell of the wood in the place. It was like walking into my Grandmas house 50 years ago.

Room Tip: I'd recommend staying on the ground floor especially if you have large suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

Address: 68 Seven Springs Drive, Balsam, NC 28707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Balsam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balsam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Read, rest, ramble and romp at the Balsam Mountain Inn! Nestled among lofty Smoky Mountain peaks just off the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Balsam Mountain Inn was completed in 1908 to serve the highest railway depot in the east. Restored in 1991, the inn now welcomes travelers with 50 cheerful rooms, rocker-filled porches, a fine library and gracious dining. Plump pillows and soft comforters inspire pleasant dreams! In December, 2011, the Inn came once again to be owned by Merrily Teasley, the innkeeper who restored the structure two decades ago. An experienced rescuer of wonderful buildings, Teasley bought the derelict inn in 1990, and her certified rehabilitation effort helped the inn – already on the National Historic Register – experience a rebirth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant Hotel Balsam
Balsam Mountain Inn And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list