We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balsam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
68 Seven Springs Drive, Balsam, NC 28707   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Balsam B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Very relaxing - be prepared for a beautiful area, wonderful, historical building, superior service, great furnishings, excellent menu. If you are on a motorcycle, be aware that there is a steep gravel driveway to the hotel. Nice grounds and quiet, peaceful atmosphere. As you might expect of a facility of this age, the walls are paper thin and the floors creak - not a big deal for us. All part of the ambiance and charm. BTW, room 205 is haunted!
Thoroughly enjoyed ours stay - entire hotel and dining staff were first class, facility is clean, fresh, comfortable, and has wonderful, period appropriate furnishings. Really enjoyed the history of the hotel and had an excellent relaxing stay.

Room Tip: If your looking for the quietest possible room, ask for one near the back of the facility.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    56
    15
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
83
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the Inn this past weekend and loved every second. The Inn is nestled in the mountains and is about 40 minutes from Asheville. We had a second floor room with a larger bathroom and a clawfoot tub. The room is fairly plain, but the bed comfortable enough with tons of pillows. There is NO TV, so if you're looking for something to do in the evening, that won't be it. We stayed in May so it was cool enough to leave windows open - there is no AC otherwise. Dinner at the Inn was terrific in a gorgeous porch setting. Very inexpensive for what you get. We brought a fan anyway so noise wasn't an issue like other reviewers are saying. The Inn is 100+ years old so you're going to get creaky floors and older looking rooms. To me that adds to the charm. Service is great, porch has 15 or so rockers with cute star lights above. You can take wine back to the porch or room from the restaurant. Overall a great weekend - not necessarily for the kids, but we did see quite a few there. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

As stated by other reviewers, it is very rustic. It is noisy beyond just creaky floors, so be prepared if not at end of hall on top floor. The staff is nice, but did seem overwhelmed at times. The breakfast tastes good, but service is lacking. The website mentions trails included on the property, but no details provided at Inn. It is nice to be 'unplugged' from life, but never felt relaxing due to sounds from all over the property. Proximity to Blue Ridge Parkway is convenient.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The staff was nice and the breakfast was great. The location is also very convenient to the Blue Ridge Parkway entrance although you have to drive 15 to 20 mins to get to nearby towns with restaurants. If you like B&Bs with lots of characters than this is your place. It has a ridiculous amount of history, interesting architecture, and the owners have remained true to it's personality. However, if you are looking for a four star hotel that is quiet and private don't stay here because you won't be happy. The walls are thin and you can hear people in the hall like they are in your room. Definitely stay on the 3rd floor so you won't hear people above you! Even though it wasn't that great of an experience, I still thought it was fair to give it a 4/5 rating because people who are into this kind of place will really, really like it.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the third floor which had an extra sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in April. This is not a "cookie cutter" hotel where the only adventure is how soft the mattress is. There are noises here that will get your attention. There is charm here just as there is charm in making your own butter. If you are looking for glitz and gloss, nope! If you are looking for quiet conversation, good food, a beautiful part of the world, and a unique place to stay,yep!

Room Tip: Each one is unique. Check out the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I found this place through Expedia that had a Groupon attachment. We got the "tower suite' (room 334) and are very happy here. If you're expecting the Hilton, this is not for you. We've stayed at may Hiltons, but were looking for something a little more unique for our 20th anniversary. This fits the bill. The room is emmense and plenty warm. It has base board heaters that are adjustable. There are NO TV's or telephones.......what a treat. We brought our computer and are happy to say they do have free WiFi. I also brought our Downton Abbey DVD for the evenings, perfect to put you in the right timeframe. The best part about this place is the restaurant. Last night we had a fresh trout dinner and a butternut squash ravioli dinner. Both were outstanding. The spinach and garlic stuffed mushroom appetizer was outrageously delicious. The breakfast this morning was every bit as good and comes with the room. It's served to your table (not buffet). This morning was french toast, grits, pastry, sausage and fresh fruit. Everything was fresh and delicious. The wait staff is exceptional.
Ok now for a couple of downsides. The floors of course are old wood, painted white and very loud and creaky. I'm glad we're on the top floor. The furnishings are ok, not great. The furniture is on the worn side and the bed is very firm but I slept well anyway. Overall we're very pleased and happy to be here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at this establishment recently on a Sat and Sun evening. Was the inn rustic? Yes, in that it is an old inn that has not had too many updates, including no mixing faucets which was a challenge - but did it have it's own charm? Yes, no doubt about it. The staff was pleasant, the included breakfast was adequate, and one evening we had the dinner special (lamb chops) which was comparable to meals we have had in fine establishments. The wine list was reasonable. We booked a suite which was two small connecting rooms, one the bedroom and one the sitting room with table to set up the computer, a comfortable couch, and chair. The Wifi was hit-or-miss, but we blamed that on the fact that we were at the back of the hotel far away from the office where I suspect the cable was located. We did not encounter the issues with noise from other rooms that others have noted, but we may have just been lucky in this area. The weather was very pleasant during our stay and we had no issue with with being too hot or too cold, but I can see where this may be an issue in warmer weather. We were able to open the windows in our suite with no problem.

Room Tip: A corner suite toward the back of the inn worked for us. Ask for the side over the liberary as oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant

Also Known As:
Balsam Mountain Inn And Restaurant
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant Hotel
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant Hotel Balsam
Address: 68 Seven Springs Drive, Balsam, NC 28707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Balsam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balsam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Read, rest, ramble and romp at the Balsam Mountain Inn! Nestled among lofty Smoky Mountain peaks just off the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Balsam Mountain Inn was completed in 1908 to serve the highest railway depot in the east. Restored in 1991, the inn now welcomes travelers with 50 cheerful rooms, rocker-filled porches, a fine library and gracious dining. Plump pillows and soft comforters inspire pleasant dreams! In December, 2011, the Inn came once again to be owned by Merrily Teasley, the innkeeper who restored the structure two decades ago. An experienced rescuer of wonderful buildings, Teasley bought the derelict inn in 1990, and her certified rehabilitation effort helped the inn – already on the National Historic Register – experience a rebirth. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list