We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my all time favorites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Voss Bar-B-Q

Voss Bar-B-Q
Route 5A, Yorkville, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Yorkville
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: American
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Mentor, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of my all time favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have been eating here for more than 40 years! Hard to believe it's been that long but I love the sandwiches here. I have literally driven 150 miles out of my way to eat here. The chili and sauce are unique to any other place I have eaten. I've tried (and failed) to make something similar myself. Just a great little piece of history sitting in this old community. The shop is open seasonally so don't expect them to be open in the winter. MAKES ME HUNGRY just thinking about it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Gotta Love Dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If your a fan of roadside hotdog stands than this is a must. I love mine with all the works but my wife takes hers a little plainer. We're both happy here. We live an hour away and it's a little far for a dog but we fine time at least once a summer to wander to Voss' for our annual dog. Milk Shakes are great too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brings back good memories!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife & I had their cheeseburgers today. They were great like I remember in the past. Also ice cream. They have not changed on over 50 years...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“"Oh the Chili Dogs"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

For years and years, Voss has been the place to go for fast food without the fast. Go up to the window, place you order and get a plastic letter or number and wait to here it call to collect the best fries, dogs, burgers and bar-b-que upstate NY has to offer, and for desert, don;t forget those scrumptious hot fudge sundaes.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Is it Time to Open Again?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I LOVE THIS PLACE! Anyone who complains about still being hungry needs to ORDER MORE FOOD! It's certainly cheap enough! I love the cheap prices and being able to get exactly what I want. I love the Pistachio milkshake, BBQ Beef (w/extra sauce), and the Chili Cheese Dog! YUM! Oh, and their french fries are the nice thick crinkle kind that are never soggy. It's like have a nice Backyard BBQ meal at your fingertips. I love that I can get my fill without feeling overstuffed. My only complaint is that it's cash only but I know that helps keep their costs down, so it's worth it!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voss Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Voss Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voss Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.