We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandma's Decline” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grandma's of Yorktown

Grandma's of Yorktown
3525 Crompond Road, Route 202, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598
(914) 739-7770
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lake Peekskill, NY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Grandma's Decline”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This used to be a great place to have a meal. However, lately things have been amiss. The service is very hit or miss, usually miss. The food is still very good, although the portions seem smaller. The value, now that they no longer give you free pie at the end of your meal, is just average. The atmosphere has become increasingly drab. What a shame!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

39% Recommend
    4
    7
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Maybe grandma died ? Must have changed ownership.... Food not as good as it use to be, atmosphere is plain, pie display case was almost empty - sad considering Grandmas was well know for pies. They need a new dishwasher as well - I don't enjoy my beverage in a cloudy glass. Oh, service was good [--] we were the only table mid afternoon. I wont be back anytime soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornwood, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have been going here for years for breakfast. I have overlooked many things I have found over the years i.e. lipstick on my coffee mug, egg shells in the omelet, and rock hard muffins. I draw the line today! To make a long story short I have a newborn baby and called to pick up a omelet with a bagel on the side. When I got home I ate the top half of my bagel. Being in a rush with the baby I went to eat the bottom and noticed mold in the center right before taking a bit. Thank god I saw that before eating. I called and they only offered me another bagel (ha!) or a discount of another meal. They lost me forever as a customer. Thanks for giving me mold that I ate!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Glad we came!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We made a trip up here just to come to Grandmas! We came for breakfast and had a lovely time. as soon as you step in the door it is truly like going to your Victorian grandma! the restaurant is a step back in time......I had the western omlet which was really good....the home fries were okay and the bacon okay....coffee good. my husband had same only with eggs over easy.....eggs cooked just right. our main interest though was purchasing a pie to bring home. it had been a long time since we had one and were really looking forward to it and it did not disappoint.....we purchased the blueberry and loved it....the crust was not like the pie crusts you get in most places, it was home made! and the blueberry filling was perfect......as soon as the weather is cooler we are going back for the chocolate cream pie.....I remember that being yummy! so, breakfast was good......pie was great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“have dessert first”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The breakfasts are pretty much ho-hum typical. Not bad, not exciting although they do have egg white options which is nice. The fresh fruit that comes with waffles and pancakes, such as blueberries, seems to be out of a can and re-heated by chef mike. But the actual pancakes, waffles, etc. are hot, fairly light, etc. Their coffee is a hearty but non-lethal blend that is salvation to all of us who despise the Sta*****ck bitterness that has overwhelmed flavor as the key to a good joe. Their breakfast sandwich - classic eggs, ham or bacon, on a hard roll - is a definite keeper and worth getting one for the road if you are heading out of town. I've been there for lunch and dinner in the past. Whatever entrees we ordered were competent but mostly unremarkable. Until you get to the desserts. My recommendation is to have a dessert for an appetizer, then have a dessert for the entree, then have a dessert for dessert, and then get one to take home with you for breakfast tomorrow. Their pies earn their three stars. Need I say more?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's of Yorktown also viewed

 
Yorktown Heights, NY
Yorktown Heights, NY
 

Been to Grandma's of Yorktown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandma's of Yorktown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.