We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed for Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gem - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gem
1828 Central Park Ave., Yonkers, NY
(914) 361-1500
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Armonk, New York
2 reviews
“Closed for Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I recently had a long conversation with Paul. Although the restaurant did have a kitchen problem, and, as Marian F. notes below, Paul did intend to reopen in September, the restaurant sadly is now likely closed for good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yolnkers
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Why the mystery and misleading answers?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have eaten at Gem Rest. at least five different times and recommend others, as well as buying a gift certificate for a friend. However, after returning on at least four additional occasions, was told the Rest. was closed. Each time the reason it was closed as well as when it would open were different. I was told it was closed for repair, problems in the kitchen, Con work. When it would open is just as baffling.

WHY IS/WAS THIS REST, CLOSED (THE REAL REASON)???? From reading people's comments, it seems the rest. will reopen in Sept. 2013. Back to my original question? WHY? PATRONS NEED TRUTHFUL ANSWERS.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not closed for good. Will reopen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This fabulous Chinese restaurant is closed temporarily but plans to reopen in September. My husband stopped by today and saw Paul, the owner. When it reopens, people should flock there. This is the best Chinese food anywhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
2 reviews
“Closed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have been to Gem a number of times. Although expensive, it was always terrific, and not your usual Chinese restaurant menu offerings. Unfortunately, Gem is now closed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRONX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Tastes are quite different then other Chinese restaurants that I have been at. The owner states that the tastes are very authentic rather then "Americanized". Lunch specials more costly then the usual but well worth it. Dinner prices are high, but a special treat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gem also viewed

 
Yonkers, Westchester County
Yonkers, Westchester County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.