We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh, better Mexican exists elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Grande

Rancho Grande
1789 Central Park Ave, Yonkers, NY 10710-2839
914-337-3056
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 298 Restaurants in Yonkers
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Yonkers, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Meh, better Mexican exists elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The food isn't bad here but it's not exactly something I'd rave about it either. The service could use some improvement as well. There are many other places I'd rather go first for Mexican than Rancho Grande. It's also kind of pricey for a Mexican place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“LOVE this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Food is always good...atmosphere is great and the wait staff is very friendly. I have never waited for a table here! entertainment is allot of fun as well!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonkers
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wow great authentic Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Great fresh food and great service. Vic is awesome. The owner is pumping alot of money into this place and it shows. It is a great place for anything drinking eating dancing etc.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckahoe, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food, fast service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Went on a Saturday night. We were seated immediately, the place is HUGE. The food was, as usual, excellent. I had fish tacos, my wife had quesadillas, and it was perfect. The half-pitcher of red sangria was sweet and tasty (though a little pricier than I would have thought). Service was excellent, and as is par for this restaurant, FAST! We even indulged in desert, flan for her, ice cream for me, all delicious! Have been there before, will go there again!

Will say they're a little pricier overall than I would like, but I wouldn't call it expensive. The restaurant has a nice ambience as well, and mariachi bands occasionally play in the bar. I don't know if they go table to table like other restaurants, I hope not, I hate that.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful service..but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Great place for Mexican food and just to meet with friends for drinks and appetizers! Love it there, but I was a little disappointed when my kids were just loving the chips and we asked them to bring more and were told that they would have to charge us. We are a family of six and a small basket of chips between everyone was just not enough. We all ordered dinners and I just thought to myself that with what we are paying, like most restaurants, bread and/or chips should just come with the meal. Are things that bad that a restaurant would resort to charging for more chips?? My meal actually came with guacamole and the chips would have been great. How in the world do you tell people that they have to pay??!! Besides that, everything else was great!! Try the steak dishes..they are really fabulous!!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Grande also viewed

New Rochelle, Westchester County
 
Yonkers, Westchester County
Yonkers, Westchester County
 

Been to Rancho Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.