We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, simple place for a snack and a beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landau Grill

Landau Grill
17 Mill Hill Rd, Woodstock, NY 12498-1307
845-679-8937
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 28 Restaurants in Woodstock
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Monroe, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Friendly, simple place for a snack and a beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We have been to the Landau Grill several times and always find it relaxing, with a friendly, accomdating staff and simple but good food. In the warm weather we like to sit outside on the front patio, watch the passing parade and have a beer and some nachos or a burger. As the weather turns colder we make our way inside for some liquid refreshments and maybe the black bean dip with tortilla chips. If there is something you want that didn't come with your meal, the staff is always willing to accomodate you. There is nothing fancy about this place, but is always a reliable stop after a day walking the streets of Woodstock and visiting shops or the flea market.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    32
    13
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Salem, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor seating. Otherwise, go somewhere else.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I really love the outdoor seating at this place (which is the ONLY redeeming quality, hence my two stars instead of just one). The outdoor area is a nice place to just hang out with a drink and people-watch. The food was terrible and the servers struck me as apathetic. This place is not expensive, but it is a rip-off for what you get. I felt insulted by the meal I ordered, especially since there are so many other good restaurants in town. As far as the bar, the drinks are over-priced and the beer selection is limited.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Landau Grill in Woodstock disappoints”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Despite some rave reviews on Trip Advisor for this restaurant, we were disappointed with the food and somewhat with the service. My nephew had the fish and chips and it was greasier than usual and fish did not taste fresh. My sisters were disappointed with the bbq chicken and ribs and a black bean entree. My seared ahi tuna and sesame noodles were tasty and cooked well. Pumpkin pie was nothing special. Service was spotty; seems they were short staffed.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rude and not-accommodating hostess. Stay away.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

While all the reviews attest to the below-average food, we had no idea that any restaurant could still be in business today with such a ride hostess out front. What an impression!!! We were told that we had to sit at a certain table even though the place was less than half occupied. In the sun, not the view of choice, but our little restaurant "person" would not hear of our wishes. We left quietly and felt the endorsement of others in the place! She literally could not have cared less!

Best of luck to you, Landau and may your future be empty.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“great patio, people watching, food not so good. bad beer menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

stopped by for the inviting patio but the beer selection was not what i expected and the food just wasnt that good.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landau Grill also viewed

Woodstock, Catskill Region
 
Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 

Been to Landau Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landau Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.