We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a serene and gracious place to visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodstock Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodstock Country Inn
Save
You added Woodstock Country Inn to your Saves list
185 Cooper Lake Road, Woodstock, NY 12498   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
McCahill1
1 review
“What a serene and gracious place to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

The Woodstock Country Inn is a warm and welcoming home, where my boyfriend and I stayed while we visited Woodstock for Levon Helm's "Midnight Ramble." The bed and breakfast was easy to find; located on a sizable piece of property that felt very private. Our room was clean and inviting, with a beautiful mountain view. Carol, the innkeeper, is a charming woman who spent time talking with us about the history of Woodstock, and the colorful characters the town has entertained. She was very knowledgable about the area and graciously addressed all our questions over a delicious breakfast. We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
58
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

The Woodstock Country Inn is a terrific place to spend a few relaxing days. The Inn is private, simple and very comfortable, with attractive but understated rooms and a blazing fire in a cozy living room setting. The breakfast was delicious. And the owner, Carol, is a wonderful local who brings the flavor of Woodstock and its rich history into her very own place. I highly recommend it as a terrific getaway...and one you will want to return to over and over! We came up for Levon Helm's Midnight Ramble and the charm of Woodstock but I would come here happily just to spend a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

the owner, Carol, was very personable, spent a lot of time with us, explained the history of the building, beautiful artwork,

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

My husband and I found Carol and the Inn after staying in many places in the area. My daughter rides and the horseshow in Saugerties (HITS) is about 15 minutes away. The Inn has become our home away from home, thanks to Carol's wonderful hospitality and delicious breakfasts! The rooms are spotless and comfortable, our favorite is upstairs on the left, but we have stayed in all four and they are all lovely, each with something special to recommend it. We have stayed with my daughter and her riding friends, my husband and I have come for weekends, and it is always perfection. There is nothing like sitting by the fire in the living room on a cold snowy day and the view is truly spectacular. There is nothing in the area that compares and we have stayed in three other B&B's and the scary Friar Tuck Hotel (our first year at HITS). We just love coming here and most highly recommend it for romantic getaways or touring the town of Woodstock. Be sure to ask Carol for her favorite restaurants and places to see, she is a wealth of knowledge of the area. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

My girlfriend and myself decided to take ourselves away from the city for a much needed break, and stumbled across the Woodstock Country Inn online, read some reviews (mostly here), and decided it sounded right for our brief getaway.... It exceeded all of our expectations!!! Carol the host was truly lovely (as was her helper, Lorena), the breakfasts sublime (all natural eggs for life for me now) and the house itself was perfect. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable (fantastic mattress!); our private bathroom was huge, and the porch fantastic, especially at night. We also made good use of the pool and the backyard in general... We will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fingerlakes, ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Our stay at the Woodstock Country Inn was completely delightful. We enjoyed the beauty of our surroundings...a lovely, spacious, crisp clean room, a tasty breakfast (excellent coffee) as well as, the Inn's proximity to everything you could want to do in Woodstock. However, we discovered that the true gem of the Inn was the Innkeeper, Carol. She is an ever-welcoming presence who has the gift of making strangers into friends. She knows her community and has the stories that transform a location into magic.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

My wife and I had the wonderful pleasure of spending July 4, 2009 up in Woodstock, NY, which is one of the most delightful, quaint, vibrant and exciting towns one could ever want to visit, with some outstanding restaurants (ie: Joshua's and The Bear Cafe). While you can spend plenty of time doing up the town and nearby sites, it all comes together, once you've honed in on the place at which you want to stay. And with this all said, there really is but only one place to stay and that would be the magnificient Woodstock Country Inn. Located far from the madding crowd (not that there really is a madding crowd in Woodstock), on acres and acres of beautiful, lush, magnificent land, it's just simply the best. The house has but four rooms to rent out and ours, located on the second floor, with its own private balcony, was just great. If you're looking for it all, then this is surely the place to be. And what can you say about the inn's proprietor, Carol Wandrey. Well, she is a delight, a wonder and a true wealth of knowledge when it comes to filling you in on the area and what there is to do. She makes you feel so at home, whether it be when serving a wonderful breakfast, which she will surely tailor to your specific tastebuds, or whether just sitting in the relaxing beauty of the day room downstairs. And what does one think of when sitting amidst all of this beauty, well, you're thinking about when your schedule will allow you to return!!!! And that's what I'm doing now, thinking about when we can return the the beauty and grace of the Woodstock Country Inn. You should definitely do the same!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodstock Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Country Inn

Address: 185 Cooper Lake Road, Woodstock, NY 12498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed elegance in an idyllic, peaceful natural country setting. Absolute quiet on nine acres surrounded by mountain views. 4 Rooms with private baths, private decks, cable tv, a/c. Wi-fi. Heated saline pool in wildflower meadow. Delicious organic breakfasts. Recommended by NY Times, Fodors, Weekends Away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodstock Country Hotel Woodstock
Country Inn Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodstock Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.