We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Home with Character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Gables of Woodstock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Twin Gables of Woodstock to your Saves list
Twin Gables of Woodstock
73 Tinker St., Woodstock, NY 12498   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
new york city
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Home with Character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is my favorite place to stay in Woodstock. I love its charm & character, location is perfect and quite reasonable for the price. This home was built in the 1800's and once you've entered its doors, you feel like you've stepped back in time, from it's parlor with lace window adornments and quaint flower wallpaper, writing desk, comfy sofas, fireplace and 24hr coffee/tea area. There are two King and Queen bedrooms downstairs, as well as a single room and upstairs are bedrooms and two large communal bathrooms that are kept exceptionally clean. I love the natural hair and body products and green cleaners they use (great if you have sensitivities!).. the room itself is another experience. I've stayed in several rooms and seen them all .. they all have a particular character that you must experience yourself. I'm a writer and I started coming to Woodstock a few years ago and was inspired by this wonderful home .. it spoke of colonial history, you can just imagine guests of yore enjoying the outdoor porch that is now the majestic King room, so classic and elegant. I've had many interesting conversations with guests who come from all over the world and share stories of our travels, current events and experiences. The proprietors are knowledgeable and helpful but allow space for the guest to have their own experience of Woodstock and its many gifts and mysteries. And don't miss Laurie, who works on Sundays. She's a loving spirit you will feel very at home with. And speaking of spirits -- again, it's for you to experience .. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    24
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
35
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

From the antique furnishings, to the cozy fireplace in the big living room to the day round tea and coffee, this is a lovely and delightful, totally convenient Inn in the town of Woodstock. It is very tasteful and has none of the dusty shabbiness that other B&B's can have. The prices are great for what is offered, the staff is lovely and low-key. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

There are some B&B's where you sense the proprietors are proud of their lodgings and the service and hospitality they provide. Then there are others that extract the maximum price they can, knowing that for whatever circumstances, you won't be able to easily cancel or find another place - this place is the latter.

Booked suite 12 @ $200, and in hindsight, was not worth it, left feeling a bit gouged.

It appears this room (suite) was converted from an outside porch. Tacky carpet squares for the flooring, and double inside room doors, and an outside door, porch and steps to a solid inside wall give it away. In this suite, we had a separate, comfortable couch and 2 sitting chairs. There was also had a separate wall unit heater used to heat the space, that was annoyingly loud, cycling off and on every few minutes throughout the night, which wasn't conducive to a good nights sleep. Natural guest products were provided in the bath, with ample clean towels. The king bed was very comfortable, with fresh linens, although they didn't change them during our stay. The common area on the ground is small, only 2 couches that could only seat 4, maybe 6, at one time. The decor is 50's with lots of print wallpaper.

Also, for "breakfast" they only offered a very limited cold breakfast of muffins, fruit and yogurt from 9 - 10:30 am on small plates. Individual coffee and tea was available 24 hours a day. It snowed overnight, and the outside walks were not cleaned by 1 pm making the stone walk and steps slick. The staff was unobtrusive, and scarce. Simply, just didn't get a sense anyone cared.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henritischler, Owner at Twin Gables of Woodstock, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Wow, I've never been personally attacked in a review before.

Our king suite is a new guest room which I converted about two years ago from being the owner's quarters into the king suite that you and your partner stayed. At $184 per night - our most expensive room - with a king poster bed, couch, chairs, private bathroom, free wifi, coffee/tea 24x7, complimentary breakfast, free parking, in an 18th century home in the heart of Woodstock, it is a bargain anywhere in Woodstock and pretty much anywhere else in NY one would want to stay. Twin Gables is the most affordable and most conveniently located guest house in Woodstock.

Two local designers were hired for the design and decor of the suite. The "tacky squares" you describe for the carpet are Flor carpet tiles, specifically chosen by the designers, both to go along with the decor and to allow for easy green cleaning, as we strive to be as environmentally green as possible.

What you present as negatives in your review, is actually precisely what we strive to achieve and what makes for the charm of Twin Gables and keeps bringing our guests back time after time. Twin Gables was established as a guest house in 1926; the house itself is from the 1800's. We love this house and whenever renovations or modifications are called for, we take great care to maintain as much as possible of the original. There are glass doors off the parlor that used to lead into the tea room. A door from another bedroom, leads nowhere, because that used to be Mr and Mrs Deibler's room in the 1920's and that door used to lead into the old kitchen, which is now our linen room. Stairs on the second floor lead to nowhere. A fern sits by the same window it has looked out into the street for the past century.

We like our guests to be able to relax and come and go as they please, without having someone watching their every move or, heavens forbid, by having a curfew, which we are told another local B&B does (!). Our guests have keys to their room and the front door and can go in and out as they do their activities in town throughout the day and night. Staff is readily available to help during the day by a simple knock at the kitchen door if needed.

Our breakfast is a continental breakfast consisting of fresh muffins, fruit, Brown Cow yogurt, juice, and coffee/tea. It is designed for our guests to grab a bite before they head off to their activities or to have a lavish brunch at one of the several restaurants a block or two away that Woodstock is known for.

Finally, thanks for letting me know that the heater - designed so that guests in the king suite have control of the room temperature - is making noise. Apologies that the noise kept you up. For that, i am sorry. Please remind me next time you and your partner stay with us, and I will give you a discount from your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very disappointe, especially after reading some glowing reports. Payed $140 +tax via Booking.Com for room 5 but saw the rate at $119+tax on brochure and their own web site after we arrived. In my opinion this is not a typical bed and breakfast. The Twin Gables "mantra" on their brochure states "Our home is your home" yet this is not a home. All the rooms appear to be bedrooms with just a small entrance hall and front room available to visitors. The lady who welcomed us left during the evening and came back just before 9.am i.e. very late and inconvenient for people touring. The small sitting room has 2 couches and three chairs and no tables or dining chairs, so the very limited cold breakfast was placed on a side table and we had to eat, either standing up or sat on a low couch! The only facility was a coffee maker (not in the room) and a fridge containing three cartons of milk only. Our room (5) was tiny, approx 10'x10', probably the smallest room we have ever stayed in and that includes notoriously small Parisian hotel rooms, with very modest furniture. The decor was tired, with damp patches on our ceiling. No facilities in our room, the nearest bathroom was down a corridor past three bedrooms. Over many years we have travelled widely throughout the US. We have often chosen bed and breakfasts, because in our opinion US b&bs are amongst the best in the world, along with South Africa. This trip has included the wonderful Amerscott Inn Stow ma and Captain Grants near Mystic ct. Here we were welcomed by the owners, with cookies and muffins along with wine, beer and soft drinks always available and we were provide with superb cooked breakfasts. Other similar service was provide in all the other b&bs we have visited such as The Hounds Tooth Inn Oakwood ca and Captain Ezra Nye in Sandwich ma. In our opinion Twin Gables is really a lodging house and very expensive, although it may be that some of the even more expensive rooms are more comfortable than Room5 Ps it was also very cold downstairs because they had run out of oil! Maybe we were just unlucky but for the price offered, this was poor value. The following night we stayed at The Victoria Inn, a superb Old style quality Hotel in the centre of a Saratoga with an entrance area to our bedroom bigger than room 5 at Twin gables and at only $90 per night including a substantial hot breakfast in a comfortable dining room.
The positive side is the excellent location

Room Tip: Dont choose Room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

When we walked in the door, we could smell Murphys Oil soap and see a roaring fire. We rented almost all of the rooms for a celebration. We loved the cozy decor and the friendly staff. The suite was immaculate (I even liked the soaps and shampoo). The location is right in the middle of the village. We were able to park our cars and walk everywhere. My friends and I are already planning our next visit. Oh and try the almond muffins in the morning. We are still dreaming about those!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We recently had our fourth extremely pleasant stay at this delightful place that seems to thumb its nose at modernity except in the things that matter: exceptionally clean rooms (they would pass my late mother's white glove test), baths with ample towels and "free" bathroom goodies, and beds so cozy it was hard to get up and leave them! Endless coffee, morning muffins, and a cheerful staff who seemed to know every inch of Woodstock. All this and free wi-fi. We plan to return next summer to this escape from NYC's noise and turmoil! Pure, unfancy delight. Sort of unwind central!

Room Tip: the large downstairs suite is a good choice if you need to spoil yourselves as we did. we also slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had a friendly and relaxing stay of three days and two nights this past October. With all its historic charm and its convenient location in the center of Woodstock, one would expect to pay a lot more for a room. Once you add the free Wifi and the 24 hour Keurig machine, it doesn't get any better for this weekender in search of some quiet and fresh air. The room was very clean and comfortable, the towels abundant and the bedding cozy -- woke refreshed in the morning after a great night's sleep. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating, and they shared a wealth of information about things to do in the local area. I've always been a little hesitant about period furnishings, but at Twin Gables of Woodstock, it is done very tastefully. And interesting contemporary art in the sitting room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twin Gables of Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Gables of Woodstock

Address: 73 Tinker St., Woodstock, NY 12498
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Woodstock; reasonably priced, charming rooms; free complimentary continental breakfast; 24X7 coffee/tea station; wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Twin Gables of Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin Gables of Woodstock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.