We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy, Cruelty Free & Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Cafe On The Green

Garden Cafe On The Green
6 Old Forge Rd, Woodstock, NY 12498
(845) 679-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 restaurants in Woodstock
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Mahwah, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Healthy, Cruelty Free & Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I love the slow cooked greens, seaweed salad and the tahini sauce, Yum!
Sometimes I miss the food that I drive almost 2 hours just to eat there and then I always bring something home for the next day. I wish it was closer by.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    57
    27
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Vegan Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Loved the seitan stew, brown rice and greens -- gourmet flavors, cruelty free. Such a sweet ambiance as well. Don't be in a rush when you eat here. Good things are worth waiting for.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Little Cafe With Big Flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Garden Cafe is a cozy casual eatery. Pam, owner and chef surely knows her stuff. This gourmet vegan cafe has a very creative menu with daily specials that are very tasty and affordable. When the weather allows, there is dining in the beautiful garden, created be "Gardening Angels". The white picket fence adds to the storybook setting. The tables have umbrellas to shade one or protect one from a summer shower. The large trees act as room dividers and one feels the privacy. The soups are very delicious as is everything else. An experience not to be missed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Garden Cafe is the place I choose when out of town visitors ask where to go for lunch. The meals are hearty, affordable and delicious. I don't follow the vegan diet, however there is always an item on the menu that is unique and tasty, therefore- I just dive in with confidence. When in Woodstock- this little restaurant is a must. And, I hear they take reservations!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Veg Love”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was probably one of the best vegetarian meals I ever ate! It's hard to find upscale vegetarian dining once you leave major cities, but the Garden Cafe delivered! I particularly remember eating an amazing vegan apple crumble that was heaven in my mouth. Great service and staff, funky, comfy atmosphere, good wines. It falls short from excellent because the bathroom is actually outside the restaurant, and the night we went it was cold and rainy, so it was inconvenient.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Cafe On The Green also viewed

Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 

Been to Garden Cafe On The Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Cafe On The Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.