We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiking up Overlook” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overlook Mountain

Overlook Mountain
Woodstock, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Catskill park region, Overlook Mountain beckons nature lovers with its trails and campgrounds.
Kingston, New York
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Hiking up Overlook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

is one of the most exciting and accessible activities in the Woodstock area. Although there are many many great hikes in the Catskills, this one is easy to get to and the trail is really an access road that's wide enough for several people to walk together. It's a 2.5 mile hike from the parking lot to the fire tower, which is a MUST if it's open. I have a bit of vertigo, so I had to take it really slow to the top of the tower, but the view is simply spectacular!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    35
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Hike”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This hike is not for the out-of-shape. It is a serious uphill walk on a steep grade for a few miles. The walk up is not very interesting and there will be quite a few other people walking with you- it is a road by the way. The pay off is the view at the top, I just don't know if I would do this hike very often. Kaaterskill Falls is a much better local hike with a better payoff for smaller work.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn,
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Overlook”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Spooky, cool, good workout. Brought my dog, she had a great workout too. I would say this place would be amazing in spring/summer.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth a trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Went for a little hiking trip and loved it! As I had read on TripAdvisor before - hike is steep, not very easy.
We did the shortest hike and must say, it was tiring.
Also we were not sure about hiking in February - but weather quite warm for February, which really helped.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

It's easy to find the trailhead - just ask anyone in Woodstock. Wrap up warm enough, it's always much colder as you climb, and be prepared for a long steady hike. The view at the top goes on for miles and miles and miles........

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Overlook Mountain also viewed

 
Woodstock, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 

Been to Overlook Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overlook Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.