We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for authentic breakfast diner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stop Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stop Inn
6022 Roosevelt Ave, Woodside, NY
(718) 779-0290
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 126 Restaurants in Woodside
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek, Irish
Restaurant details
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place for authentic breakfast diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Re visited on our recent trip to NYC and it didn't disappoint. Good traditional breakfasts, quick service even though it always seems busy and love their home fries. If you want the authentic old fashioned American diner experience for breakfast then this is the place. Other fancy looking cafes in the area just don't hit the spot!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
679 reviews 679 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Do drop in at the Stop Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This looks like an old coffee shop from the exterior. It is on a triangular plot. Don't miss it. While Queens is famous for Thai food, Chinese food and Indian food, I did not know a humble coffee shop just across one slim street from the entrance/exit to the 7 train (elevated) would be so good. By the way, the address is 60-22 it is near 61st, Roosevelt and Woodside.

Someone in the kitchen cares. I ordered a fruit salad because it looked so good. It is served in a glass dish that, in my youth, held banana splits. Each fruit is individually chilled and ladled out. This is not, mass, bought, half-ripe fruit salad. Impeccable.

I also ordered a green salad with cilantro and grilled chicken. The chicken was thin, like a paillard. It was much more chicken than I could eat. Two people could split this. The vinaigrette on the side was homemade. With tip, $19.50

Note restrooms are down a steep flight of stairs.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food for local diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This place is under the 7 train at 61st street and Roosevelt Avenue. I have frequented this place several times. My favorite item here is their Grilled Chicken sandwich with home fries/hash browns. I even order this for take out as the portion is a good size and very filling. I have had the chicken marsala as well, and a few other items. Everyone is friendly and it is conveniently located, although it can get very crowded at times. The prices are pretty fair.

Most areas have a local pizzaria and local diner, I guess this would be my local diner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ok but I wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Average breakfast food at prices consistent with the rest of the neighborhood. White toast only. Carried in my styro cup from the hotel that was about 1/4 full of coffee and was informed immediately by our server that outside drinks are not allowed. There are better places for breakfast in the neighborhood.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stop Inn also viewed

 

Been to Stop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stop Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.