We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No good services at all” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Woodside Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Woodside Motel to your Saves list
Woodside Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65-09 Queens Blvd, Woodside, NY 11377 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Queens)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woodside
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No good services at all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrive 2 days ago, and we got a room where the restroom door did not close at all so your privacy while you were in the Throne run away... We asked to change that room. The second room did not have light in the bathroom so it seem that the issue is in bathroom area.

Today we left the room 9AM and we just return at 6 PM and the room was in the same condition that we left this morning, dirty, nobody pick up the trash and the bed was undone.

The manager did not give so much explanation and now I am writing this review at 6 PM sit in the hallway while the maid finally is cleaning our room ..... The worst Howard Johnson that I have ever been.

Room Tip: Go away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    36
    10
    20
See reviews for
21
38
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We didn't spend much time in the room, the walk from the subway station can be a little taxing if you have heavy bags. We became used to the walk (stayed 5 nights). The breakfast is pretty good and the free coffee machine makes really good coffee. The location is not too bad, with a bunch of restaurants just a short walk down the road and a pharmacy and laundromat nearby.
The room was small but the bed was comfortable. Overall, we would recommend this hotel and had no problems with it.

Room Tip: Our room was fine, we chose a Queen bed since we heard that the King rooms would be in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you're not willing to pay the typical NYC prices for an accomodation this motel is perfect. It's 20 minutes by local train from NYC and 10 minutes by express train. It really is fast and there are many trains during the day so you can easily go to the city or come back. The room is not really up to date, but it's a typical American motel room, we found it clean and comfortable. The motel also offers you breakfast which is a plus. We would definitely come back cause the prices are extremely good and 10-20 minutes to NYC are really a short time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Booked this hotel through Travelocity. Didn't expect much based on 2 star rating. However, was not prepared for what I was getting into. Room was in the basement next to a utility room full of junk. The size was unbelievable small, bed uncomfortable, no ironing board or iron. Ironically, this was also a handicap room. Towels were so filty I had to go out at 11pm to buy my own towel. Front desk staff was not very friendly or helpful. Howard Johnson should be very embarrassed that this dump is representing its brand.

Room Tip: Can't speak for rooms above ground. Make sure you don't get a room in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a 1 night stop over on 19th July before catching a plane from LGA to Detroit. Our first hotel during our stay in the USA it was the worst so far. It wasn't terrible but it wasn't all too pleasant. The lady on reception came across as rude and disinterested. This could just be a New Yorker thing - the sort of attitude of 'I'll help you but I might as well punch you in the face whilst I do' sort of attitude. There were towels lying all over the lobby which looked unpleasant. Our room was down one level and I didn't like how our tiny basement window looked out on the street. It didn't feel very private or pleasant. It was also pretty noisy as our window was right next to a busy road. I woke up several times in the night. This could partially have just been jet lag but the car noise was not helping. The room was dark because the main light did not work. We quickly reported this to the receptionist and she said she would send someone down in 5 minutes. No one came and we just made do with the lamps by our beds. I felt that at just over $100 it seemed overpriced for what it was. I suppose it wasn't considering New York prices in July but I just felt a little cheated.
It's a 10 minute walk to the subway which is good and our receptionist, whilst she didn't come across as very pleasant, did book us a taxi in the morning. It cost $20 not including a tip to get to the airport.

This place is ok for a night if you need to be close to La Guardia airport but I wouldn't like to stay any longer than that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Room is not clean when you look at it. Due to i guess old and not well washed beddings and towels. Bed bugs awaken us on sleep at night when we needed some good sleep. Stayed 1 &1/2 days got out with a bunch of bites on our hands, arms, shoulder and legs.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Less than 10 min walk to the train, and 20min train ride to Times Sq. Close enough to save a bundle of $$$ as compared to staying within NY itself. The rooms are clean, and not a bad size for the area. The A/C is loud, but with the windows open at night, there was enough of a breeze to not have to turn the A/C on. (it was Mid-80's during the day when I was there) Nice large king size bed, but pillows are very flat. I was staying on the second floor looking at the parking lot so not much to look at, but it was probably more quiet as oppose to staying on the street side or in their basement level. One drawback about the hotel is that hot water will stop working. If it does, just call front desk, and there's something they can do to turn the water back on. Bit of an inconvenience, but for the cost of a night's stay ($120/night), you probably won't find anything that's remotely as convenient, or as spacious in the area. Free Wifi which is always good. The other thing about the hotel is there isn't a lot of food in the area. If you're looking for food, chances are good you'll be getting back on the train and going somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Motel

Address: 65-09 Queens Blvd, Woodside, NY 11377 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Queens)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Woodside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woodside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Woodside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Woodside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Queens Hotel Woodside
Howard Johnson Hotel Woodside
Howard Johnson Woodside
Woodside Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.