We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a place to sleep for cheaper than manhattan” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woodside Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Woodside Motel to your Saves list
Woodside Motel
65-09 Queens Blvd, Woodside, NY 11377 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Queens)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woodside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for a place to sleep for cheaper than manhattan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The good:

-$12 with tip cab ride from LGA
-Front desk staff were pleasant (with the exception of one guy over the phone)
-Clean room
-Free wifi
-Near little restaurants and stores

The bad:

-Subway was a bit of a trek. Not suggested with luggage.
-We had a room in the basement. Silly for $130, if you ask me.
-In the morning, the juice machine wasn't working and you have to pay 0.50 for coffee.
-The front desk will call you a ride, but it will be a car service- more $$$ than just calling yourself a taxi.

Overall, if you're just looking for a place to lay your head for a better price than manhattan... It's an ok choice.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    36
    10
    20
See reviews for
21
38
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

everything was perfect!! we loved howard johnson! it was totally OUR home for 18 days in new york city!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed here from Feb.19-20th 2012. The room smelled a bit musty and as if it had just been painted. The room was a decent size with one double bed. It was clean and comfortable. The pillows were a bit hard and uncomfortable. Overall, I slept well. The room had a large bathroom but the water pressure was pretty weak. This room did have a hair dryer. The location wasn't bad. There was a little store nearby and a short walk to a few restaurants. I was only staying here for the one night, as it was a closer ride to the airport than the previous hotel in Midtown. This hotel is 4-6 miles from La Guardia. The cab ride was $20.00. Staff was incredibly helpful. I was able to extend my checkout from 11AM-12PM at no charge. Additional hours were only $10.00 an hour. This was helpful and kept me from having to sit at the airport for 5 hours. When it was time to leave, staff called a cab for me without hesitation.

I would stay here again, and most definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I had a room on the basement level, with a tiny resemblance of a window. I paid about 120 bucks for my one night stay. The place is ran down: wallpapers coming off, cheap and shabby furniture, loud and smelly A/C. Walls are so thin you get to hear everything from the hallway and rooms next to yours. Sheets seemed to be ok, towels too. Water pressure was good. Toiletries provided. Coffee/tea maker and hair drier worked well. I did not take a complimentary breakfast, but I saw the selection: a couple of cornflakes dispensers, milk, tea and coffee. Nothing else. There is a couple of small grocery stores right next to the place, and a 7/11 accross the street. I would stay there again, if I was really short on cash and had to be in this specific area, otherwise you can totally find a room right on Manhattan for the same amount of money with the same level of amenities. DO NOT STAY here if it is your first trip to NY. You will ruin your own first experience of this great city.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the basement level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

As in the tittle – hotel was middle class. The price was quite high comparing with conditions, but this is New York, right? Room is quite small, but it has everything you want. Bed is very big, there’s TV, free Wi-Fi, safe and coffee machine. It was more or less clean. Bathroom was generally also clean, but shower seemed like was never touched by a cleaner.
There was a free breakfast in the hotel. Few muffins, cornflakes, milk, coffee and tea. So nothing special.
The neighborhood is OK, I felt safe, when coming back to the hotel in 10 or 11 p.m. The closest metro station is c.a. 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I arrived at night. My room had no heat or working lights except a bedside lamp. I told the front desk who sent a maintenance man. He changed the lightbulbs - when that didn't work he shrugged and said he couldn't do anything else. He said the window mounted heater was working. We could hear the motor but no heat was coming out. Another shrug and he left. It was freezing. I tried to sleep wearing all my clothes including coat. Front desk would not let me change rooms. Hallway floor, carpet in room filthy with urine smell. Maybe good thing there were no lights in the bathroom so I couldn't see. Too awful, had to leave in the middle of the night. It is not value for money to stay in a cold, dark and dirty room with staff that just don't care.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We just got back from a four-night trip to NYC and stayed at the HoJo Express in Woodside while we were there. Our prime reason for picking this location was price - we paid less for four nights than we would have paid for two nights anyplace in Manhattan.

We arrived at noon, three hours before check-in, hoping they could hold our luggage for a few hours, and were very pleased that they let us in our room that early. The room was clean, ours had a microwave and small fridge, small desk/table with chair, armoire with TV, and a small open closet area. We just had one king bed in the room and there was plenty of open space for us to set our suitcases down and live out of them without them being in the way. The bathroom had standard amenities, but only two towel sets, which was fine for us. There was a very basic continental breakfast, coffee, juice from a machine, two kinds of cereal, and a few muffins and danish in the lobby area. The staff was very polite and helpful with the few questions we asked them. The room was cleaned to our satisfaction daily.

The immediate area is not quiet. The hotel is on a busy street, across from a gas station and fire department. We were in the front of the building above the lobby and there was noise from time to time. The noise does subside somewhat at night but never completely. This was not really a problem for us but may be something that others may need to consider. The 61st/Woodside subway station was about a ten minute walk for us from the hotel to the subway platform. Turn on 65th when you see it, it's much faster than walking all the way to 61st.

There are businesses of every kind within a couple blocks of the subway station - food markets, restaurants of all kinds, two laundromats, Dunkin' Donuts, a couple of bars, pizza by the slice, hair salons, etc. A couple of the places we liked were Metro Kitchen for breakfast, the Dugout Irish bar for a beer ($5.25 per pint) and the pizza by the slice place across the street when we headed back for the night. There are several places you can pick up fruit to supplement the breakfast at the hotel, at pretty reasonable prices.

Transportation costs: Cab from LaGuardia at 11:30 on a Wednesday was $19 plus tip. Cab to LaGuardia at 11:00 on a Sunday was $13 plus tip. The seven-day unlimited metro card was $29 per person. This was a great value for us, we used the subway not only to get to Manhattan, but also to get to different places once we got there. There are only eight parking spaces available and we only saw one time where there were any open spaces. Neighborhood parking also appears to be at a premium, fortunately for us this was not something we needed to consider for this trip.

We would definitely recommend this as a good place to stay for a trip to NYC!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you're a light sleeper, or bring ear plugs! The parking lot is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Motel

Address: 65-09 Queens Blvd, Woodside, NY 11377 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Queens)
Location: United States > New York > Woodside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woodside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Woodside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Queens Hotel Woodside
Howard Johnson Hotel Woodside
Howard Johnson Woodside
Woodside Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.