We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TJ Asian Bistro

TJ Asian Bistro
50-19 Skillman ave., Woodside, NY 11377
718 205 2088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 129 Restaurants in Woodside
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is one of my favorite places in Sunnyside. The service, food and atmosphere are excellent. I love the chicken soba noodle and chicken Katsu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

If you like sushi, you must try this restaurant. They are the best sushi in NYC. They have a fantastic selection of rolls and it is always fresh. The staff are very nice. This is a child friendly restaurant.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Been a customer for years and realized tonight just how consistently excellent this place is fresh, quality food at reasonable prices in a very simple but clean and appropriate setting. We also enjoy the take-out. Waited a long time for a place like this in Sunnyside.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Resturant in Sunnyside if not NYC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

TJ'ss by far the best Japanese restaurant in Sunnyside, and I would venture to say one of the best in the entire city, especially considering the price to value ratio.
The food, service, presentation and price can't be beat.
Try the lunch special - its outstanding value, I promise you will be back for dinner!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent sushi, better than most in NYC.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

When TJ first opened, I was skeptical that the neighborhood could support it. This is not a exactly a neighborhood that cares for trendy, expensive places - least of all Japanese cuisine. However, TJ has surprised me (and probably most people here). They consistently offer very fresh sushi, better than many, many other places I've been in NYC. Plus, it's not too complicated nor overpriced. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant itself has a nice, upscale interior, but it's almost never full. The Manhattan-esque atmosphere is there, if you want it, but it seems like most people order takeout or delivery.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TJ Asian Bistro also viewed

 
Flushing, Queens
 

Been to TJ Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TJ Asian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.