We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good traditional Irish Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Donovan's Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Donovan's Pub
5724 Roosevelt Ave, Woodside, NY 11377-3431
718-429-9339
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 125 Restaurants in Woodside
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Restaurant details
new york
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good traditional Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Go for the hamburgers but try any of their dinners you wont be disappointed. New owner have kept the old favorites. Good prices authentic atmosphere friendly service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    12
    9
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Went to Donovans a few times on our recent trip to Woodside, NYC, they are famous for their burgers which are great but the chicken parmigiana is superb as well as their crab cakes and great appetisers too. Very good prices. Make sure you are hungry!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best burger ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went to Donovans to try the famous burgers and I have to admit they did not disappoint. They were cooked to perfection and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good place to meet your future spouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I met my wife through a personal ad, and this was the place we first met. Over 25 years ago! Standard pub. I don't remember anything else!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of New York's best burger joints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited Donvan's on a recent trip to NYC -- in the Woodside section in Queens. One of the best burgers I've ever tried -- big, juicy, and cooked perfectly. They could use a little stouter bun, as it's pretty much shot by the time you finish your burger. Their "french fries" are actually hand-cut potato wedges - wow, so good. They have a full selection of beers from across the spectrum. The atmosphere is classic pub -- a bunch of guys were crowded around one end of the bar, singing Irish tunes at the top of their lungs - enjoyed every minute of it. A super-friendly staff, too. When we were finished and on our way out, they each made a point to thank us for coming and they hoped to see us again soon. You can bet we'll be back next time we're in NY.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donovan's Pub also viewed

 

Been to Donovan's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donovan's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.