We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choices, preparation and food quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volpe Ristorante

Volpe Ristorante
7725 Jericho Turnpike, Woodbury, NY 11797 (Formerly Rose Hunt Restaurant)
+1 516-802-7501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Volpe Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 33 Restaurants in Woodbury
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 135
Transit: Syosset Station on the LIRR.
Description: Volpe Restaurant & Lounge features Italian inspired cuisine with a twist! Elegant decor and award winning cuisine pair to make this one of the North Shore's finest restaurants. Weekly specials and Holiday events
Ghent, New York
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent choices, preparation and food quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Enjoyed an outstanding lunch - great array of options - all house made and delicious!
Difficult to choose from the selections - colleagues brought desserts home! Coffe was accompanied by a biscotti. Definitley not your every day lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Never gets the salmon right.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We've tried to like this place a few times but the cook (not chef) does not know what rare is. And for a place owned by the same people who own one or two other local stake places, they can't get the temperature correct for chicken or steak. Weird, like the Fox Hollow Inn, they just can't quite get it right.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lobster night every Wednesday!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wonderful elegant experience. I had a delicious 2 lb lobster! $42 included a soup and a salad. the room was nicely apointed with table cloths and flowers and everyone enjoyed the meal. They had a piano player as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Noisier Than A Train Station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

After working all day at a location next to the restaurant, we saw the "LobsterWednesday"special noted in the lobby of the hotel next door so we decided to treat ourselves. This was no treat. When we got there there were two rooms in the restaurant: one completely empty and the other completely full. We found out that the reason one was completely empty was because it contained an amplified piano player that was so loud you couldn't hear the conversation of the person sitting next to you. The room that was full wasn't any better as we got seated next to a table of six cackling hens.

The next disappointment was that they were all out of lobster by a little after 8PM so there went the whole concept of getting something special. We were starved by then so we ordered anyway and while the food was tasty, the whole experience was a real disappointment.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great food and great jazz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Contrary to what many might think, jazz night at a restaurant can also offer up an outstanding meal. You are definitely not sacrificing a great meal to hear some great jazz at the Fox Hollow. As a matter of fact, my double thick lamb chops were the best I've ever had, and I've had lamb chops at some of the world's finest restaurants. They we're cooked just right, juicy and bursting with flavor. My wife's veal in a light cream sauce, which she ordered from the fixed price menu, was also outstanding. And the service could not have been better. We arrived about an hour before the music began and stayed for almost two hours after. To say that the jazz was magnificent would be an understatement. A pianist, a bassist and a drummer were all masters at their instruments and were still plaing when we left. I should mention that the band allowed some budding young musicians and singers to entertain for a few numbers. All were good. We had an absolutely delightful evening. We used to go into Manhatten for our jazz fixes, but not any more. I highly recommend the Fox Hollow for a terrific Monday night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volpe Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Volpe Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volpe Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.