We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen at The Thompson House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evergreen at The Thompson House
Save
You added Evergreen at The Thompson House to your Saves list
20 Rt. 296, Windham, NY 12496   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Windham
NYC
1 review
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our first ski holiday with our children. The staff was friendly and very, very helpful. The room was clean and spacious (perfect for the 4 of us) and it also had a beautiful view of the mountains. The Thompson House is also very well located: close to Windham Mountain and within walking distance of a convenience store, a nice cafe and an italian/pizza restaurant. The continental breakfast (included in the rate), served in the cozy and warm lounge was also very good. My kids loved the whole experience and so did my husband and I.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
8
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Our whole extended family recently stayed at the Thompson House while attending a memorial service. While we there under sad circumstances, we were pleasantly suprised to discover what will certainly be an annual vacation spot for us from now on. The Thompson House is a family-operated inn infused with pride, care and tradition. Our whole group felt as though we were staying at a "home" rather than just a hotel. The rooms are immaculate and very well maintained, each with homey furnishings that reflect this true mountainside retreat. There are a variety of room types, but each are considerable larger, offering more space, amenities and a tremendous value as compared to several other hotels in the area. The junior suite and jacuzzi suites are huge, with planty of space to sit and relax, each also equipped with refrigerators and large closets to accommodate ski gear. The beds were extremely comfortable and they offered free WiFi which was a hit. The inn serves a complimentary continental breakfast each morning in their comfortable lobby/living room which included fresh coffee, a variety of cereals, including oatmeal and homemade granola, as well as bagels, yogurts and muffins. Our kids especially enjoyed the game table in the lobby/livingroom, the variety of board games guests can use and take back to their rooms, sleds for outside and surrounding grounds where they built a snowman which was complemented by several of the staff members. The view of the mountain from the lobby is amazing. We also had views of the mountain and/or beautiful babbling brook from the rooms we stayed in.

The hotel's location is ideal...just outside of downtown Widham so quiet and serene but so convenient with several restuarants, Windham ski area, a pharmacy, etc. within a 2 minute drive. Downtown Windham is quaint and offers several good restaurants...we enjoyed many meals at the Cave mountain Brewery which brews their own beer and had a menu to satisty adults and kids alike. They even had karaoke night which the kids (and adults) loved.

The area is simply beautiful and the Thompson House provides a perfect ski retreat, run by generations of innkeepers who sincerely care about their guests.

We will definitely be back to the Thompson House!

Room Tip: If you need more space, or are traveling with kids, the Jr. Suites provide two beds plus a large sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Been coming for at least 7 years now with a bunch of families and every year there are no complaints. The owners and staff are wonderful; charming, warm and want to make sure their guests are comfortable. The continental breakfast is always good - love the homemade granola. We will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Booked at the last minute and pleased with our choice. Room was good quality. Clean, comfortable, warm, spacious. Breakfast was continental but good quality with lots of choice and some good local / home made choices. 5 minute drive to Windham so good for that if that's your reason to be in the vicinity. Felt like was a fair price. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This was our first time staying here and it was wonderful! The staff was friendly, breakfast was very cozy...great coffee! Our room was very clean and had a amazing view! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahwa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I've been coming here for years and each and every time the stay is 5 star. Setting is beautiful, staff knows how to make you feel like family and accomondations are always flawless.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnerville, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at the Thompson House for one night to ski Windham. The room was a nice size for a family of 4. We took advantage of the free shuttle to the mountain and the ski vouchers. The staff there was very friendly and made us feel at home. It was a motel with the feeling of a bed-n-breakfast. We will definitely stay there again. They advertise a skating rink, but it was more of a homemade rink- Wasn't cold enough to skate on.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#1 of 6 in Windham
5.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beds On Clouds
Beds On Clouds
#2 of 10 in Windham
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
1.3 mi away
Catskill Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen at The Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen at The Thompson House

Address: 20 Rt. 296, Windham, NY 12496
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Evergreen at The Thompson House. Nestled in Windham, NY, at the heart of the picturesque Catskill Mountains and only one mile from Windham Mountain, the Evergreen at The Thompson House offers 25 rooms for your winter getaway. The Evergreen at The Thompson House is located near Windham Mountain and Hunter Mountain, many restaurants, equipment rentals, activities and shopping around beautiful Windham, NY. Ask us about our discount vouchers to both Windham and Hunter Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Evergreen At The Thompson House Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen at The Thompson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.