We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st visit made me a repeat customer!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thompson House

Save Saved
You added The Thompson House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Thompson House
19 Rt. 296, Windham, NY 12496   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“1st visit made me a repeat customer!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

First visit to The Thompson House. I went completely by the reviews on this site, and am glad to say that I was not disappointed. Went with my wife and our year-and-a-half old son for a last minute get-away. I called the place directly to make a booking the day before we arrived. I went for the breakfast and dinner included package. Eric was wonderful to work with. We are vegetarians, and Eric and the staff made every effort to make sure we were well fed - they had a special dinner menu everyday that Eric shared with my wife and I, and we could choose from a good variety of items. The food was well prepared specially for us. We were very glad to see this because, as vegetarians, we are usually not accommodated and looked down upon in most places we visit. Room was very nice clean, comfortable, and covers all basic amenities well, and it was overlooking the golf course and the mountains which was amazing by themselves. Eric even checked in on us the first night after we arrived at the room to see if we need a crib for our infant. Lots of activities to do on the premises (games, swimming pool, movies every night at their theater, live music ). Our 3 night stay was relaxing, pleasant, and most of all, a very memorable. I/ we will be a returning customer in the near future!!

Room Tip: You can ask for the evergreen room, I believe it is called, which overlooks the golf course and moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Enjoyed a delightful family reunion at the Thompson House. What a great location! Spacious, comfortable rooms, friendly and super-accommodating staff, and something to do for everyone. Played golf, swam in the creek and the pool, enjoyed relaxed and delicious meals, and breathed fabulous fresh mountain air...! One of the highlights certainly was the Saturday evening horse races! What a hoot! Ran out of time, so rescheduled the family bocci and shuffleboard "tournaments" til next year! We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

just returned from our 16th year at the Thompson House- it gets better every year. The entire staff bends over backwards to accommodate your every need. Our rooms at the Evergreen were perfect as they always are and the view of the mountains and golf course from our balcony cant be beat.. the pool area, dining room and game room are spotless..always leave there looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is our third time at The Thompson House. I cannot say enough about what a lovely place this is. We had a family group with multiple generations, and everyone, from the 4 year to the 84 year old, had a wonderful time. The staff are all friendly and helpful, and the feeling of relaxation and warmth is evident everywhere. It was such a pleasure to sit down in the dining room and enjoy the great food -- especially the desserts! The pool was warm, and all the games were great. Also, The Thompson House is impeccably clean and well kept up. We plan to come back next year but we will stay longer than three days!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My family (2 kids under 10) and I just love staying at the Thompson House because the staff are so incredibly friendly and the rooms are HUGE! Our room has a lovely patio that walks out onto the public golf course which is a big attraction for my oldest who took the sport up last year and likes to watch the other players. The kids also very much enjoy the game room: their dad is teaching them to play pool, there's a table soccer game, a table shuffleboard game, some video games, paddle ball, and (for us old-timers) a pinball machine. Although there is a fantastic looking outdoor pool, we've never been able to enjoy it because we always visit during the end of spring when it's either too cool or too wet .. but one day! We request the "meal plan" so we always have a wonderful breakfast and simple but satisfying supper waiting for us. It's well worth the money.

Room Tip: If you have an end room on the first floor (there are only two floors) where the outdoor stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford,NY
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My Family loves The Thompson House. We have been going there several times a year for 19 years now. Every time we leave we count down the time until we go back. The people are so friendly and the atmosphere is so relaxing. The food and entertainment are always great.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We hold our family reunion every year at The Thompson House.. We always say we had the best time ever, and this year was no exception! The Goettsches accommodate our boisterous bunch with a smile, and we always leave wishing we had just one more day! Thanks for another year of great memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson House

Address: 19 Rt. 296, Windham, NY 12496
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over five generations, families and groups have joined us for traditional hospitality and wholesome entertainment here in this northern Catskill Mountain resort. Located in the beautiful town of Windham, NY, The Thompson House is the ideal place for any type of getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Thompson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thompson House Hotel Windham
Thompson Hotel Windham
The Thompson Hotel
The Thompson House Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thompson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.