We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Stay and Always so Comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thompson House

Save Saved
You added The Thompson House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Thompson House
19 Rt. 296, Windham, NY 12496   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Windham
Bloomfield, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2nd Stay and Always so Comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My family (2 kids under 10) and I just love staying at the Thompson House because the staff are so incredibly friendly and the rooms are HUGE! Our room has a lovely patio that walks out onto the public golf course which is a big attraction for my oldest who took the sport up last year and likes to watch the other players. The kids also very much enjoy the game room: their dad is teaching them to play pool, there's a table soccer game, a table shuffleboard game, some video games, paddle ball, and (for us old-timers) a pinball machine. Although there is a fantastic looking outdoor pool, we've never been able to enjoy it because we always visit during the end of spring when it's either too cool or too wet .. but one day! We request the "meal plan" so we always have a wonderful breakfast and simple but satisfying supper waiting for us. It's well worth the money.

Room Tip: If you have an end room on the first floor (there are only two floors) where the outdoor stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaford,NY
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My Family loves The Thompson House. We have been going there several times a year for 19 years now. Every time we leave we count down the time until we go back. The people are so friendly and the atmosphere is so relaxing. The food and entertainment are always great.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We hold our family reunion every year at The Thompson House.. We always say we had the best time ever, and this year was no exception! The Goettsches accommodate our boisterous bunch with a smile, and we always leave wishing we had just one more day! Thanks for another year of great memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and her family went here when she was a kid and this was our fifth year going as a couple. We go to relax and that's the one place we can do that. Everyone is like family and that warmth just oozes from everywhere. We look forward to Labor Day weekend every year just to get to The Thompson House!

Windham, the facilities, the mountains - all nice. But what makes this really special is - the people. Whether you want to get away from it all and just relax or stay busy and explore the fun things, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Well, it looks like we are the 'odd' people out. Didn't care for the place at all and felt that it certainly wasn't worth the price we paid. Yes, the staff was friendly, but that's pretty much were it stopped. While the room was large and clean, the furniture was dumpy (think 80s), the toilet lever broke, no AC but only an ancient (and ineffective) fan.
However, what really made us decide never to return was that we were charged not only 15.00 for the roll-away for the 3rd person in the room but also an additional 50.00/day for ---- WHAT? Spending 500.00 for a 3-day stay for bare bones accommodation (no breakfast etc.), certainly was not good value for the money.

Room Tip: Get a room with AC in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THouse1880, Manager at The Thompson House, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
travl4fun2,
We’re sorry your stay at The Thompson House was not what you expected.
We do appreciate your acknowledgement to our friendly staff and how clean our rooms are. We are proud of our staff and are grateful for each one.
The majority of our rooms do have air conditioning, and an air conditioned room is always offered, if one is available. We do pride ourselves in decorating each of our rooms differently and unique that is why we call our place “The resort with the personal touch.” We wish we were made aware of your maintenance issues as it would have been taken care of right away.
Like any industry, charging extra for additional people and bedding is standard practice. With three adults in a room without air-conditioning, with a rollaway should cost $400.00 for two nights and 3 days.
Guests of The Thompson House are offered a meal plan which includes a full breakfast and dinner (if not at capacity). If a guest decides not to be on our meal plan there are many great restaurants/cafes in the area and some within walking distance.
The Thompson House is a resort, and we offer far more than just accommodations. Our rates include use of our large outdoor heated pool, BRAND NEW tennis court, and a recreation room with free pool tables, Foosball tables, Ping-Pong, arcade, fitness room, shuffle board courts, volleyball, bocce, badminton, and much more. Not only do we offer many activities for our guests, but we are located very close to many fun things to do in the area.
Again, we are sorry your stay with us was not an enjoyable one. We hope that if you do decide to stay with us again in the future you will have a different experience. An experience you will be happy to tell you friends, family and fellow trip advisors about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Thompson House is spectacular.

If you're looking for rest, relaxation, getting away from it all you'd be extremely hard pressed to find a better way to spend your family vacation time, money. Incredibly clean picturesque facilities, quiet, restful pool time, wonderful menu, friendly, courteous, efficient staff. Local activities include an incredibly scenic 18 hole golf course, hiking, horseback riding, seasonal town events and shops. And if you’re so inclined a day at The Great Escape 6 flags or beautiful Saratoga both a reasonable 1.5 hour drive.

For our family The Thompson House has been a wonderful vacation tradition for more than 14 years. We could not be happier with the time spent and the memories. The most difficult part of any visit to the Thompson House is having to say good bye.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just returned from amother trip to the Thompson House. As always my experience was just exceptional. The menu has gotten an update and the food is still abundant and prepared well. The golf Course is still recovering from IRENE, but they have done a great job in putting together 18 holes with what they were dealt. While we were there heavy equipment was going from dawn to dusk and progress is visible.
Don't stay away- support the good, hard working people of Windham- These are the places that make life special and allow us to get away from our everyday problems.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson House

Address: 19 Rt. 296, Windham, NY 12496
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over five generations, families and groups have joined us for traditional hospitality and wholesome entertainment here in this northern Catskill Mountain resort. Located in the beautiful town of Windham, NY, The Thompson House is the ideal place for any type of getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Thompson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thompson House Hotel Windham
Thompson Hotel Windham
The Thompson Hotel
The Thompson House Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thompson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.