We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thompson House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Thompson House to your Saves list
The Thompson House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Rt. 296, Windham, NY 12496   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, New York
1 review
“The Perfect Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Thompson House is spectacular.

If you're looking for rest, relaxation, getting away from it all you'd be extremely hard pressed to find a better way to spend your family vacation time, money. Incredibly clean picturesque facilities, quiet, restful pool time, wonderful menu, friendly, courteous, efficient staff. Local activities include an incredibly scenic 18 hole golf course, hiking, horseback riding, seasonal town events and shops. And if you’re so inclined a day at The Great Escape 6 flags or beautiful Saratoga both a reasonable 1.5 hour drive.

For our family The Thompson House has been a wonderful vacation tradition for more than 14 years. We could not be happier with the time spent and the memories. The most difficult part of any visit to the Thompson House is having to say good bye.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just returned from amother trip to the Thompson House. As always my experience was just exceptional. The menu has gotten an update and the food is still abundant and prepared well. The golf Course is still recovering from IRENE, but they have done a great job in putting together 18 holes with what they were dealt. While we were there heavy equipment was going from dawn to dusk and progress is visible.
Don't stay away- support the good, hard working people of Windham- These are the places that make life special and allow us to get away from our everyday problems.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were looking for a relaxing vacation upstate NY that would be fun for the kids. They have a beautiful pool, organized activities, and plenty of games for families to enjoy. The food was also excellent!
The town of Windham is close by and has a zip-line park and plenty of local eateries.
The owners of the Thompson House were so kind and you can tell they are truly vested because the grounds and room were immaculate!
I would strongly recommend the Thompson House and we'll definitely be going back! It's a great place to go with multiple families but you're sure to meet people.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwilliams4105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife's family has been coming to The Thompson House for over 50 years, during the July 4th holiday. This has been my 8th time going and each time, it has gotten that much more enjoyable. I just came back home yesterday and I really miss it already. The grounds are immaculate and the rooms are spacious and clean. My 3 kids, ages, 9, 7, and 3 absolutely love it. Eric, Debbie, and their 3 sons are wonderful hosts and they will do anything to make your stay that much more enjoyable. Breakfast and dinner are included. The food is very good and the wait staff is excellent. There are daily activities such lawn dice, word games, boche, and shuffle board tournaments. The pool is outstanding. It really is a place (well Windham in general) where you can be as busy or as relaxed as you like. I may head down there for Labor Day weekend. I am not sure if I can go a whole year without another visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooktondale, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Each year we ride our tandem tricycle from home, near Ithaca, NY, to Point Judith, RI, and the ferry to Block Island (near Providence). After three days of riding we are ready for a rest day. The Thompson House is absolutely perfect. Quiet, wonderful food, friendly people AND a bike shop down the road.
I didn't rate the spa, simply because we didn't use it. I see from signs that massages are available for guests.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the golf course. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just got back from a Memorial Day Weekend get a way. Always a pleasant experience at the Thompson House (not meant for hard core partiers). Stayed in the Evergreen Suite with a great view. Rooms are clean (very important to us) and food always filling and great tasting. Pool area always inviting, along with the mountain view. Staff is always friendly and the owners are always pleasant and accommodating. We have visited during the fall, spring and summer seasons and all are very nice. The Thompson House is not as vast as other resorts such as Sunny Hill or Woodloch, so it depends on what you like and what your looking for. We like to stay during there quieter times, to relax and take in the beauty of the Catskills.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Our first time staying at the Thompson House, had an excellent experience, warm and friendly staff, the rooms are spacious and spotless. Our room had a great view of the mountain and its slopes. The fresh coffee and homemade granola in the morning hit the spot. The TH is located close to Main St., and the mountain. We have stayed at three other places while visiting Windham, all good, but TH is at the top off the list now!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
7.4 mi away
Scribner Hollow Lodge
15.1 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
0.1 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
0.2 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 10 in Windham
5.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson House

Address: 19 Rt. 296, Windham, NY 12496
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Thompson House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over seven generations, families and groups have joined us for traditional hospitality and wholesome entertainment here in this northern Catskill Mountain resort. Located in the beautiful town of Windham, NY, The Thompson House is the ideal place for any type of getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Thompson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thompson House Hotel Windham
Thompson Hotel Windham
The Thompson Hotel
The Thompson House Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing