We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Going Back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thompson House

Save Saved
You added The Thompson House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Thompson House
19 Rt. 296, Windham, NY 12496   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Seaford, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Keep Going Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just got back from a Memorial Day Weekend get a way. Always a pleasant experience at the Thompson House (not meant for hard core partiers). Stayed in the Evergreen Suite with a great view. Rooms are clean (very important to us) and food always filling and great tasting. Pool area always inviting, along with the mountain view. Staff is always friendly and the owners are always pleasant and accommodating. We have visited during the fall, spring and summer seasons and all are very nice. The Thompson House is not as vast as other resorts such as Sunny Hill or Woodloch, so it depends on what you like and what your looking for. We like to stay during there quieter times, to relax and take in the beauty of the Catskills.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Our first time staying at the Thompson House, had an excellent experience, warm and friendly staff, the rooms are spacious and spotless. Our room had a great view of the mountain and its slopes. The fresh coffee and homemade granola in the morning hit the spot. The TH is located close to Main St., and the mountain. We have stayed at three other places while visiting Windham, all good, but TH is at the top off the list now!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Just stayed for two nights with my 23 year old nephew and 2 teenage sons. It was perfect for all of us. Huge room and balcony, all the staff very laid back and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Recently stayed for the Columbus Dayweekend with family and friends. This is a yearly event, but the Thompson House was a new venue for us. Staff was accomodating, friendly. Food was good. Rooms were beautiful and very clean. Part of my family has lived in Windham for over 50 years and we have stayed at many nearby locations-this is a gem! You will get every bang for your buck and aside from the activities on the property, there are many nearby attractions.

Room Tip: The main house is accesible to all and you don't have to cross the road for the dining room/acti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We have been comming here for out Family Reunion for Years. They are always Happy to see us every year and we are Happy to see them. Love the Old World Charm but they are also up to date with the times. Rooms are Beautiful and Beds are Comfortable. You can Sleep in or go Horseback Riding, Paintball or Zipline nearby.

Love it, Love it, Love it!!!!!

Room Tip: If you have a Family EverGreen had some Great Big Rooms or our personal Favorite Tamarack 63
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

The husband and wife team at the Thompson House should be commended for their care and concern for their guests and others. We were in Windham, NY the day after Irene damaged Windham. We were staying at the Thompson House at the time. We were told to evacuate the hotel because the flood waters were getting very close. We evacuated to a local church. The owners of the Thompson House brought over enough food and drinks to feed about 100 people. When the flood waters resided they allowed us to come back to the hotel and spend the night. There wasn't any electricity so we had a fabulous candlelight dinner. I just love these 2 special people. The hotel is lovely. The food was delicious. Kudos to Thompson House owners and staff.

Room Tip: Reserve a room in the Evergreen building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

It was a nice hotel to stay at. The owner is very attentive and personally engages guests in activities provided on site. We requested an additional cot, as we visited with three small children. They could use new cots. The cot smelled of mildew, even asking for the sheets to be changed the following morning, and we did pay an additional fee for the use of the cot. The hotel appears to cater to repeat customers, families that gather for reunions every year, which gave it a very homey feel. Overall, a pleasant experience with a personal touch.

Room Tip: We stayed in main house overlooking pool, had a terrace with nice view of pool and Windham mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson House

Address: 19 Rt. 296, Windham, NY 12496
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over five generations, families and groups have joined us for traditional hospitality and wholesome entertainment here in this northern Catskill Mountain resort. Located in the beautiful town of Windham, NY, The Thompson House is the ideal place for any type of getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Thompson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thompson House Hotel Windham
Thompson Hotel Windham
The Thompson Hotel
The Thompson House Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thompson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.