We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort in the Catskills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thompson House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Thompson House to your Saves list
The Thompson House
19 Rt. 296, Windham, NY 12496   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Resort in the Catskills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Thompson House goes out of its way to ensure that every guest has whatever they need. Their attention to detail, combined with the immaculate grounds, comfortable and spacious rooms, and delicious food make for a memorable vacation. Sometimes problems arise during a vacation; it's a shame that some people choose to complain on an anonymous message board rather than bring their problems to the attention of management as they arise. As far as comparisons to Bronx pools and The Thompson House pool are concerned, I am at a loss to figure this one out. I am a lifelong Bronx resident; there are some decent pools in the Bronx but nothing that compares with the cleanliness and charm of The Thompson House pool and the surrounding landscaping.

In addition, complaining about the age of the Housekeeping staff is petty and small! They do their job with dedication and finesse. That's all that matters.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The TH is a decent Motel. To call it a hotel is a big mistake. Rooms are old and beds cracking from bad maintenance. Stay in front of the golf and old electric carts will make New York City feel like a cemetery. Noise commences at the crack of dawn, as early as 4:45am.
Bathrooms are smelly with mold and old furniture. The only cleaning lady we saw was around 80. A sweet gentle lady who would never be able to toss around furniture for a proper clean up. I stayed in a so called suite with a 280U$ a night tag price to it.
The sofa was dirty and uncomfortable, simply old. The TV set was from the 80's at best and there isn't wifi unless you cross the street to the main house. Restaurants in Windham are terrible. Toast drown in butter (or Crisco we may say), a lasagna that looked like dog food, though we tried you must reserve half board before arrival. Hence, we were declined from the hotel restaurant. The pool is like any Bronx neighborhood pool you may think of. The Catskills are a beautiful area yet the lack go proper hotels is flagrant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was our second Thompson House vacation. Nothing changed since we visited 2 years ago. The same super-clean rooms, super-trimmed grounds, super-friendly service. The food is as great, as we remembered it. Our waitress, Joanne, went all out her way to satisfy our toddler daughter's taste, the pickiest ever. What this place really needs is a better entertainment and better advertisememnt among families with children (this would really pick up the guests' demographics- right now average age would be 65, I think). Although I really respect the nice elderly ladies and gentlemen which visit the resort for good 40 years in a row, the resort certainly need to bring more families aboard to survive the tough times. I would like to see Goetsche's younger children to think outside the box while planning activities and entartainment and advertising this establishment, which is a true jem. As for us, we did our part- recommended the House to 2 friends' families. They already visited, very thankful for the great service ( and to us for recommending!) and planning to return!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

They had a junior suite that was spacious enough for families with three or more kids and a pleasant view of the golf course/country club. Wish it were a bit more up to date (screen/storm doors practical but a bit worn; TV had no DVD player but decent enough cable, carpet clean but a bit worn, etc.). If you want to participate in what they refer to as the meal plan (breakfasts & dinners) you apparently need to specify it at booking. The many choices of things to do was a plus, including old-fashioned shuffleboard and a pleasant tree-lined pool, real treats for city kids like ours. The price charged per night of about $250, which is comparable in price to family-friendly suites at chains in larger cities like Marriot, was a bit steep considering the older finishings and small oversights like not providing shampoo, a bit of a surprise when arriving late in town with kids in tow.

Room Tip: Rooms in different buildings are unique but view of golf course was pleasant; ask for higher floor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We arrived to a warm welcome, and settled into our rooms which are immaculate.
The grounds are beautiful with the mountains providing a perfect backdrop.
The food was excellent with many offerings to choose from.
The friendly atmosphere is nurtured during many fun games like bocce and lawn dice.
Our only regret is we could not stay longer.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several of their offerings, and have never been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I just returned from a long holiday weekend with a group of friends and our children of varying ages- about 27 of us in all. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice our room was- very large, newly renovated, with a beautiful view of the mountains and golf course. The food was as good as resort food is going to get and our group enjoyed it very much.

Some of our friends took a day trip to Howe Caverns and some of us were content to rest at the pool or around the grounds. The resort runs at a very slow pace and (at least this weekend) there were no planned daytime activities- which was okay with me- the kids swam, played balland hung around and it was very relaxing. Night time entertainent was family oriented and fun.

I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We went with 26 golfers from East Rockaway, Long Island from the Bay Park Ladies Golf Group. Have been going for the past 5 years and our group gets bigger each year. Everyone has a great time, good golf, staff very cordial and the Thompson House is just super.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson House

Address: 19 Rt. 296, Windham, NY 12496
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over five generations, families and groups have joined us for traditional hospitality and wholesome entertainment here in this northern Catskill Mountain resort. Located in the beautiful town of Windham, NY, The Thompson House is the ideal place for any type of getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Thompson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thompson House Hotel Windham
Thompson Hotel Windham
The Thompson Hotel
The Thompson House Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thompson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.