We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Diner

Michael's Diner
5339 Main St, Windham, NY 12496
(518) 734-4831
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Windham
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Long Island, New York
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

You definitely want to be woken up in the morning by Tracey, the happy waitress at Michael's. She was genuinely cheerful and had a great attitude. Oh, and the breakfast was pretty good and reasonably priced. I believe we were charged only a dollar for coffee (with refills). We were told that the lunch and dinner items are all freshly prepared. Cash only.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    9
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I had my 1st egg creme here - yuck! Im sure its great as far as egg cream's go but I have decided I don't like egg creams.
Everything else was fantastic. The bacon and eggs were perfect to how I ordered them and the home fries were almost like my parents restaurant growing up - so tasty. My husband and son liked their meals as well. Great service and terrific food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great diner, great waitress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stopped here on our way home from a weekend at Hunter Mountain. The place is very, very clean. The waitress was excellent. She was nice and talked to my 3 year old son, even giving him a toy car to play with and take home. The food was great and good sized portions, great prices too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkstown, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“really good diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stopped in this weekend after hearing oositive things about it. You can't really ruin an omette, but it can be above average and this was! Tasty, loaded w/veggies, and cooked right. My husband had the sirloin w/mushrooms and onions and ate the entire thing - it was a huge portion. Owner friendly and comes out to chat. Will return. Good find in Windham.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super duper friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

There were not a lot of options in Windham. This place got decent reviews. We were very warmly welcomed to this old-school diner.
Fresh salad, good pasta dish too. We bought some local jam and honey, 5 bucks each. Cole Slaw deliciousness with my grilled cheese sandwich.
Very fresh, good service.
No credit cards... Boohoo
We should have gone back for breakfast

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Diner also viewed

 
Windham, Catskill Region
Windham, Catskill Region
 

Been to Michael's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.