We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Allegria

Save Saved
You added Albergo Allegria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Allegria
43 State Route 296, PO Box 267, Windham, NY 12496   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Windham B&B and Inns
Millbury, Massachusetts
1 review
“Best place ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were told about Albergo Allegria from another couple we met during our stay in Hunter Mt. We were there for the country fest and checked in on Sunday when everyone else was leaving.
It was the best thing we ever did. The people were great. We were treated like family. The food was fantastic and so was the room. Can't wait to go back next year!
Gary & Cookie

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    29
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
49
195
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buchanan, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Albergo while attending a rainy weekend of music at Hunter Mountain. The staff was wonderful and couldn't do more to make everyone comfortable. They even put up a canopy at the bus shuttle along the road, which kept us dry, and all the other pickup location passengers jealous. Since we couldn't go outside and enjoy the beautiful property, we did take advantage of the 900 DVDs available, and the beverages, cookies, and muffins offered as snacks when the kitchen was closed. Breakfast was superb with a delicious daily changing menu of belgian waffles, frittatas, and omelets. Thank you Vito and Lenore for your wonderful hospitality. Thank you to the entire staff! We will be back sooner than expect, I think we found a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Wonderful secluded location. Very clean and comfortable. This is where you stay when you want feel the weight of the world fall off your shoulders. It is just down the road from the Albergo and you can still take advantage of Chef Vito's cookin'. Top notch. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to go away on a whim for Memorial Day weekend and we couldn't have been more pleased with our decision to stay here! We had a relaxing and more than enjoyable stay - The staff is friendly, knowledgeable & accommodating, the location is great, the common space is warm & inviting and the value is excellent. The breakfast is incredible with daily specials everyday (egg dishes, etc) as well as fruit, yogurt & granola (our favorite). We also very much enjoyed our time in the parlor sipping on tea, eating cookies, and playing checkers by the fireplace! It was unforgettable and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have just returned from my third stay at this hotel, and once again it has been an unforgettable experience. The rooms and common areas are as nice as you would expect from an impeccably maintained historic inn. But what really sets this place apart are the super-friendly management and staff - and the action going on in the kitchen: in addition to breakfast time, guests are getting treated through the day, with all sorts of baked delicacies made available on the kitchen counter... Great job, guys!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here last year when we came to see the amazing fall foliage in The Catskills. We knew that if we returned to the USA this year we would want to go 'upstate' just to stay here again. We stayed for 3 nights in late April and it was so quiet and peaceful which was exactly what we needed. We stayed in our favourite Millenium Suite which was just perfect as usual. Better than any hotel because of the uniqueness of each room,every one so well decorated and comfortable.
What sets this place apart is the friendliness of the owners and the excellence they strive for to ensure their guests have a wonderful stay. The guest kitchen is a real blessing with cake and beverage available 24 hours.There have been even more improvements since last year. The selection of tea blends & flavours is outstanding and the breakfast continues to be one of the best ever.

Room Tip: The Millenium Suite has the biggest jaccuzi I have experienced and the most comfortable 4 poster be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Greetings,

After a detailed search I came across this place. It had so many great reviews I had to look more into it. Initially I wanted to go Saturday to Sunday but ended up staying Feb. 10th-11th with my girlfriend for a quick snowboard get away. We came from Astoria, NY and the ride was about 2hrs.

We had the Lavender Thyme room. It has a private entrance, huge bed, huge ceilings, shower/ jacuzzi tub and an awesome fireplace. The whole place was cozy, with a back-home/country feel. They Offer complimentary soda, juice, coffee and cookies. We also were given an amazing homemade cheese cake. You have access to this 24/7. They also have a tea/coffee/hot chocolate you can have 24/7. Free WiFi in room.

The next day we had a great home cooked breakfast. It also came with a buffet of fresh fruit, English muffins, bread and homemade banana nut muffins. The breakfast room is so cozy and warm.

They have free WiFi in the main room/lobby area and section to go on the internet. They have menus and maps of all the surrounding areas restaurants. We chose Messina's Restaurant. It was down the road and Albergo offered 10% off coupon which they didn't have and actually called the place to have them give us the discount. It was cozy and pretty good food.

The staff was so friendly and easy going. We had no issues and they made you feel so welcome. I forget their names but they were all amazing and willing to chat. I love this place and would recommend it to anyone. Go!!!

Create Memories!

Scott

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Allegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Allegria

Address: 43 State Route 296, PO Box 267, Windham, NY 12496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Northern Catskill Mountains, Albergo Allegria is an award winning 21 room bed & breakfast hotel. All rooms offer full private bath, flat screen TV/DVD and modern amenities. Suites feature whirlpool tubs and gas log fireplaces. Awake refreshed after a good nights sleep and enjoy a hearty breakfast assortment of omlettes, fritattas, and sweet entrees. Choose from an extensive tea selection or delight in locally roasted coffee, ground fresh to order. Free Wi-Fi, 900+ DVD library, parking, guest computer in lobby, and complimentary guest pantry with soft drinks, hot beverages and bottomless cookie jar await. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Allegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Allegria Hotel Windham
Albergo Allegria Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Allegria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.