We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Allegria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Allegria to your Saves list
Albergo Allegria
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   43 State Route 296, PO Box 267, Windham, NY 12496   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Windham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Perfect Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here last weekend during our weekend-long ski trip. We can't say enough about this place. Charming, welcoming, comfortable, clean, friendly..... We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The main house is charming, and that is where we met the helpful innkeeper. He showed us around and to our room. We stayed in the back house, and highly recommend these rooms. The room was bright, big, clean, and comfortable. It had a fireplace and a hot tub. The bathroom had a huge window that opened up into the bedroom. This feature, along with the high ceilings, made the room seem bigger and brighter. The kitchen was open to all guests and had tea, coffee, drinks, and snacks throughout the day. After returning from skiing on Saturday, they had freshly baked brownies and bread in the kitchen, next to a pot of coffee and an assortment of teas. Breakfast was delicious! The dining room was homey. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food was amazing, and they had a very nice selection. We didn't want to leave!! We would stay here again in a heartbeat and highly recommend this fine establishment!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay in a room in the back house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    33
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
59
212
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world. I have never felt the need to write a review before. The Albergo is truly a diamond. Vito and Lenore and the entire staff are warm, sincere and lovely people who would quite simply do whatever it takes to ensure your experience is exemplary. Chef Vito's culinary creations are second to none. Do yourself a favor, find a reason to go to Windham( and there are many) and book your stay here. You will not be sorry.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay in room 4 which is their most affordable room right outside the bathroom. The room was large enough for our short stay with a comfy bed and two cozy arm chairs. Originally I thought the proximity to the dining room would be a bother but it was quite the contrary. It was nice to have quick access for the lovely breakfast that is served to order with 3 daily options. The open kitchen during off hours for snacks and beverages was a bonus! We enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in the common room at night and the owners seem to have thought out all the extra details for comfort. They were resourceful for info about restaurants in the area and even offer movie rentals for tired apres ski evenings. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have been to this place many times and always look forward to my next stay. This recent trip was no different. Very clean, very quiet, very beautiful. The staff couldn't be more friendly, especially Marianna. She remembers me and my family every time we show up and we feel like old friends. The breakfast is out of this world. Stay for a day or two and I promise you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep a little later than most, get a room on the second floor or first floor away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairless Hills, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Albergo "The Inn of Happiness" multiple times. When we arrive at the Albergo we feel like we are home. The staff of Vito & Lenore (the owners) and Marianna and Leslie (daughter & son in law) welcome you and give you an experience that makes you feel comfortable and happy with your decision to stay there. The inn is a classic bed & breakfast inn. The breakfasts are AMAZING and the service is personal and perfect. The hotel is equipped with everything that you need to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms have flat screen TV's and DVD players and they even loan you movies from their extensive movie collection at no charge. There is access to the kitchen facilities for coffee, hot chocolate, gourmet teas along with soft drinks and light snacks (cookies, etc.) at all times. There is no extra charge for anything. We go there for skiing at Windham (less than 1 mile from hotel) or Hunter (7 miles from the hotel). The hotel is charming and has the history that you would expect from a bed and breakfast hotel. Give the Albergo a try and you will glad that you did.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband & I were lucky enough to spend a few days at this lovely Inn and are so happy we did. The property is beautiful, our room was lovely as are the others, the food scrumptious, and the staff were everything one could hope for. On top of all this, we met some of the most interesting people which made our time there even more enjoyable. In between two villages, we found a plethora of good restaurants and wee shops to choose from. This is, by far, one of the best Inns we've stayed at and cant wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Albergo Allegria is amazing. very relaxing stay, beautiful accommodation , interesting and surprising Breakfast. i recommend this hotel. if you sky you have hunter and whindam very very near. during the week they have a special promotion and you have the ski pass included in your package . ciao

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Albergo Allegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Allegria

Address: 43 State Route 296, PO Box 267, Windham, NY 12496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Allegria 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo Allegria Bed & Breakfast Hotel is nestled in the Northern Catskill Mountains offering tranquility with modern amenities in a quaint small-town setting. We combine the relaxation and hospitality of a bed and breakfast, and add in all of the conveniences of a world class hotel to create an ideal setting filled with character and history so you can fully enjoy your time away from home. Albergo Allegria offers the grace and repose of another century. The architectural and decorative theme that the innkeepers, Vito and Lenore Radelich, have endeavored to preserve throughout this sprawling bed & breakfast hotel is that of a welcoming Queen Anne Victorian country home. Relish in a restful night's sleep in one of the Inn's 21 well appointed, comfortable guestrooms - complete with private baths, dream worthy beds, flat screen TV's, HDTV/DVD, and modern amenities. For seekers of romantic indulgence, Albergo Allegria features luxury suites with a whirlpool and gas-log fireplace. Wake to the delicious aromas of a hearty gourmet breakfast made from fresh, local ingredients. Step outside the inn's front door and enjoy a wide variety of all-season activities from skiing, snowboarding, and ice skating in the winter, to horseback riding and zip-lining year round. Your complete satisfaction is our top priority. Our friendly and welcoming staff is here we pay close attention to detail in order to give you the most calming stay in our 4 diamond award winning bed and breakfast hotel. Come to us to experience Albergo Allegra, the "Inn of Happiness." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Allegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Allegria Hotel Windham
Albergo Allegria Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Allegria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.