We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Messina's Restaurant

Messina's Restaurant
5658 State Route 23, Windham, NY 12496
518-734-4499
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 26 Restaurants in Windham
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent service and meal!! Great bar. Went with a group of friends and had an awesome time! Waitstaff was super friendly and professional. Can't wait for our next rip to Messina's!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Manager at Messina's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for the review! We are glad you enjoyed everything and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    2
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

good meal...nice bar. Went here with friends. Walked out happy and stuffed!! We arrived ~5 on a Saturday night, sat right down. It was quite crowded when we left.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Don't be fooled by the no nonsense decor. This place rocks! First, the ladies serving were so genuinely nice, I felt like I was in a five star restaurant in Manhattan. Food was to die for, especially the sauce! Freshly cooked, generous portions and reasonably priced. I had the best Seafood Fra Diavlo ever in my life. Steaks, perfectly cooked. We loved it so much, we came back the very next night. I feel like driving the 3 hours up there just for dinner!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Manager at Messina's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for the review! It was a pleasure serving you the first night that you came in, and I was very glad to see you the next night for Ladie's Night! Hope to see you back in soon; if not we may have to talk to the owner in to opening a place in the city or Long Island! -Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene County
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Casual Dining, Leave Room for Dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Messina's is casual and nicely appointed. The food is fresh and homemade. You can tell it's not from a can and 'doctored up' like many other restaurants now days. We had homemade soup with a great stock base and pieces of fresh seafood. The complete meal entrees in the center of the menu were a really great value! Good choices and nice portions. Friends had the "perfect" steak. Save room for dessert. Chocolate Snowflake Cake was Delicious with a capital D! Staff was friendly and bar area had a 'good vibe'. A must visit in Windham.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Manager at Messina's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for the review! It is great that you have recognized that the owner, Ed Messina, is a chef! He takes great pride in his dishes, and only learned from the best being Vito Radelich. We love it when you come in for dinner, hope to see you very soon! -Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The owner really takes pride in what he is serving you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Fantastic food - I can't say enough. The price was great and the full course meal from home made soup to icecream was incredible. Will go back again!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Manager at Messina's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for the review! We are so glad you enjoyed our food and menu choices! Anticipating your next visit! -RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Messina's Restaurant also viewed

Windham, Catskill Region
Windham, Catskill Region
 
Windham, Catskill Region
Windham, Catskill Region
 

Been to Messina's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Messina's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.