We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate and Professional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Kettle Motel Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Save Saved
You added Copper Kettle Motel Cottages to your Saves list
5098 Rt. 23, Windham, NY 12496 (Formerly Kopper Kettle Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Windham
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Immaculate and Professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I grew up in the Catskills and know that family-owned hotels can really be hit-or-miss around here. That being said, Copper Kettle was a lovely surprise. The owners are so pleasant, hardworking, and downright nice- and they understand what travelers need and expect in their accommodations. The room was very clean and cozy. These owners have high standards and heart- they even care about clean remote controls! The bar has great selections on tap- it's pretty unusual to see Palm in this area. Breakfast was more than adequate- quite a nice selection of bagels, fresh fruit, coffee/tea, yogurt, preserves, and homemade muffins. We had a wonderful, relaxing stay. If you're looking for excellent value, clean, rustic, and scenic- this is your place! We will DEFINITELY be back and wish the owners all the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
29
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We just came back from our first stay at Copper Kettle and can't say enough GOOD about it. The room (#3)was immaculate and VERY comfortable. The decor was done in such a way that it gave a very cozy/homey feeling. We were there for the Columbus weekend Octoberfest and the lodge is very close to Hunter Mountain,which made it very convenient for us. The town of Windham has a lot of nice restaurants etc. The best part of the stay was our hosts Don and Lisa. They couldn't have been more accomodating. They are very knowledgeable about the area. They were great about not only recommending restaurants (when we told them what we had in mind) but also told us what to expect dollarwise. It was so refreshing to see this young couple so passionate about this endeavor. They've only owned this motel about 1 1/2 years and have already started to make improvements and have plans for the future. We booked this motel mainly because it is pet friendly but we can't wait to come back as we really loved our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Cozy mountain retreat with a great bar area! Local skiing resorts and golf courses located nearby. Pristine mountain setting with friendly locals around. Great beers on tap! Our cottage was comfortable, clean and relaxing. Hospitality of the owners was second to none! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently stayed at the Copper Kettle for the weekend as we ran the Warrior Dash. Our room was clean and comfortable. Whether we were hanging in the room enjoying the free wifi, having an adult beverage in the bar, sitting by the fire, swimming in the pool, enjoying a great breakfast or just hanging out with other guests, everything was fantastic. After only a few minutes there we really felt like we were friends with Dan and Lisa, the owners. They would have done anything to make us even more comfortable than we already were. Duke and Oakley were also wonderful hosts. I loved the vibe of the place. It's the type of hotel where I feel like I need to find an excuse to go back. Hiking, biking, skiing, running, leaf peeping, etc. If they have rooms available book it right now!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is the 2nd year we have stayed at the Copper Kettle. The hosts, Don and Lisa are extremely accommodating, friendly and just all around good people. The rooms are VERY clean!! They have done a lot of work on the place in the last year, the wine and beer bar was a nice place to hang out after the Warrior Dash. They have a nice deck to sit at outside and a pool. We felt very at home at the Copper Kettle and will definitely be back. On top of the great quality of this place, it is extremely reasonable! Can't wait to go back next year!
Tracey, Orange County

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroga Lake, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Lisa and Don were amazing hosts! Absolutely wonderful!! Very cozy and clean place to stay....great little bar/pool area....just a real home feel....We plan to make this our yearly place to stay....just perfect! Many thanks again to Don & Lisa for making our stay so great....you guys are awesome!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was the first time we traveled to Windham, NY and we didn't know what to expect. We had three different types of rooms and they all were different. The one with the full size bed and single bed had a small refrigerator and microwave. The other two rooms, one with two full size beds and the other with two queen size beds didn't have a fridge or microwave but we had a cooler and brought a couple of bags of ice to keep things cold. All of the rooms were clean and cozy. We plan to stay at this motel again when returning to the area for next year's Warrior Dash!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper Kettle Motel Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Kettle Motel Cottages

Address: 5098 Rt. 23, Windham, NY 12496 (Formerly Kopper Kettle Motel)
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Also Known As:
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages Hotel Windham
Kopper Kettle Hotel
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Kettle Motel Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.