We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, accessible and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cave Mountain Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cave Mountain Motel
Save
You added Cave Mountain Motel to your Saves list
10978 State Rte 23, Windham, NY 12496   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Windham
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cheap, accessible and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

They have a really great ski and stay package here. It made our choice for accommodations in the area pretty easy since it was such a deal. Of note, though, is that you must pay cash for this deal. It's worth it though.

We arrived and were greeted by the owner in the "office" which looks like the living room of their home. Anyway he was nice and had a little bit of a sarcastic sense of humor. We checked in quickly and arrived in our room (1).

It's nothing to be impressed about but it was neat and tidy and comfortable. It's very 80s with wood panel walls and brown shag carpet. It kind of reminded us of grandma's basement or rec room circa 1985. But really we don't care about looks since all we're really doing is sleeping there. The room had two double beds (and I believe this is true for all the rooms). The bed was comfy and the shower and bathroom were clean. The heat is self controlled and worked very well.

The breakfast in the am is nothing special. There's coffee, juice, hot water for tea and milk. We had coffee cakes and pastry assortments both days as well as option to make oatmeal or have cereal (which was at least 7 choices).

Definitely a decent place to stay, especially for price and proximity to the mountain. We'd stay again and recommend it. Just don't expect the Ritz.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We normally aim for slopeside but never seem to make that happen at Windham. We have stayed at Cave Mountain a number of times over the past few years and will continue to do so. The rooms are comfortabe (we are a family of four with two little ones) and the breakfast is good enough to keep everyone happy. The owners are pleasent and are happy to help you out when you need it. It is a great deal so close to the mountain! Cash only at check-out, credit cards are for deposit only.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is a great place for a weekend stay. Rooms are warm, water is hot, continental breakfast is yummy and its central to the slopes. And lets not forget the great rate!!! Free wi fi too!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We have stayed at the Cave Mountain Motel twice. The owners couldn't have been nicer, going out of their way to make us comfortable. We took 5 rooms on our last visit in February 2011. Had a great time, hanging ut with our whole family in the breakfast/lounge area, playing games, etc. We are going back again this year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Customer service is probably the most important thing when dealing with the hospitality business and first impressions do mean a lot. I would never even think to stay somewhere that has an extremely rude person answering the phone. The man that answered the phone was so rude it took me aback. Not only did he sound like he was doing me a favor by even answering the phone but when I asked if they accepted pets, the response in an extremely obnoxious tone was, "This is a hotel, NOT a kennel." I would be cautious.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

We stayed at the Cave Mountain Motel in October (60 USD per night) and December 2009 (80 USD) during our hiking/skiing trip to the Catskills. Both rooms we stayed in were clean, homy, with two big (king size) beds. Owners were friendly, helpful and gave us a couple of good tips regarding the local restaurants and skiing options.
The only "problem" we can think of was the breakfast in the motel - it was not memorable, they provided very few choices (coffee, juice, corn flakes or pies) - nothing you would like to eat for three days in the row.
The overall experience was, however, good and we can recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cave Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Mountain Motel

Address: 10978 State Rte 23, Windham, NY 12496
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Mountain Motel is located in the Northern Catskills, 1.5 miles west of the picturesque Village of Windham. The Motel is opposite Cave Mountain, affording a beautiful view from our front door.For your comfort, each room has the following:Free WiFi2 double bedsPrivate bathroom. Cable color TV. Individual thermostats, including Air Conditioning. All rooms are non-smoking. We offer a complimentary Continental Breakfast in our quaint Breakfast Room with a wood burning stove.Every season brings different activities. Day, night, Alpine, cross-country skiing, Ice Skating, Snow shoeing, and snow tubing. Spring fishing in trout stocked streams. Summer golfing at two fabulous golf courses. Hiking and biking on miles of spectacular trails in the Catskill Preserve. Festivals, Winery Tours, swimming and antiquing, too.Enjoy the impressive beauty of the mountains as the seasons change. You might even catch a glimpse of a black bear, coyote, or mountain lion.Dining is always a delight at our many fine gourmet restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cave Mountain Motel Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cave Mountain Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.