We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cave Mountain Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cave Mountain Motel
10978 State Rte 23, Windham, NY 12496   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Windham
Ardsley, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Family Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We have stayed at the Cave Mountain Motel twice. The owners couldn't have been nicer, going out of their way to make us comfortable. We took 5 rooms on our last visit in February 2011. Had a great time, hanging ut with our whole family in the breakfast/lounge area, playing games, etc. We are going back again this year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Customer service is probably the most important thing when dealing with the hospitality business and first impressions do mean a lot. I would never even think to stay somewhere that has an extremely rude person answering the phone. The man that answered the phone was so rude it took me aback. Not only did he sound like he was doing me a favor by even answering the phone but when I asked if they accepted pets, the response in an extremely obnoxious tone was, "This is a hotel, NOT a kennel." I would be cautious.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

We stayed at the Cave Mountain Motel in October (60 USD per night) and December 2009 (80 USD) during our hiking/skiing trip to the Catskills. Both rooms we stayed in were clean, homy, with two big (king size) beds. Owners were friendly, helpful and gave us a couple of good tips regarding the local restaurants and skiing options.
The only "problem" we can think of was the breakfast in the motel - it was not memorable, they provided very few choices (coffee, juice, corn flakes or pies) - nothing you would like to eat for three days in the row.
The overall experience was, however, good and we can recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cave Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Mountain Motel

Address: 10978 State Rte 23, Windham, NY 12496
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Windham
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Mountain Motel is located in the Northern Catskills, 1.5 miles west of the picturesque Village of Windham. The Motel is opposite Cave Mountain, affording a beautiful view from our front door.For your comfort, each room has the following:Free WiFi2 double bedsPrivate bathroom. Cable color TV. Individual thermostats, including Air Conditioning. All rooms are non-smoking. We offer a complimentary Continental Breakfast in our quaint Breakfast Room with a wood burning stove.Every season brings different activities. Day, night, Alpine, cross-country skiing, Ice Skating, Snow shoeing, and snow tubing. Spring fishing in trout stocked streams. Summer golfing at two fabulous golf courses. Hiking and biking on miles of spectacular trails in the Catskill Preserve. Festivals, Winery Tours, swimming and antiquing, too.Enjoy the impressive beauty of the mountains as the seasons change. You might even catch a glimpse of a black bear, coyote, or mountain lion.Dining is always a delight at our many fine gourmet restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cave Mountain Motel Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cave Mountain Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cave Mountain Motel to your Saves list