We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay in the Catskills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vienna to your Saves list
Hotel Vienna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 State Rte 296, PO Box 487, Windham, NY 12496   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice place to stay in the Catskills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a week at this hotel and we had a wonderful time. We will definitely return. Everyone was so nice and helpful. We both had the best sleep in years because the beds are so comfortable. The entire place is clean and excellently maintained. We enjoyed their indoor pool everyday. The continental breakfast was a welcome change to bacon and eggs with coffee and tea available all the time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    62
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
55
108
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ny
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in August. Room was large with excellent view, weather was perfect, just getting cool in evening, Furnishing were very good, altho a safe and easy chairs instead of straight backs would have been perfect. Grounds were excellently maintained and very pretty, surrounded by hills. Excellent indoor pool was a few steps away from the main building surrounded by beautiful plantings. Continental breakfast was adequate, coffee, tea available all the time. Host Rick and support staff were most helpful with suggestions.

Room Tip: higher numbers were away fro the road, and odd numbers faced hills rather than parking lot. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in mid July 2013. The staff is very freindly and accommodating. The first room we were put in had a TERRIBLE odor and we had to sleep with the patio door open. We were told it was because of the sulfur in the water, which also in turn made the linens also stink. I got ice from the bin downstairs and the next morning after it melted, had a layer of black yuck around the edge. Since you have to pay in advance and couldn't get your money back, I asked to please be moved to another room. After initially being told there were no other rooms available, they did eventually come up with another room. The second room did have a slight odor but it was not as strong as the first on. Needless to say, I would never stay at this place again. They also charge extra per night for each child you have... I only have two, so I think they were $20 a piece which I find to be ridiculous when you see what they put out for breakfast...yogurt, cereal, banannas, and some Costco style cresent rolls.. The rooms are VERY dimly lit and the bedding is old. They do have great views and the pool is nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is truly a gem! They have nice clean, quiet and affordable rooms. The property is well maintained and clean. Very relaxing hangout spots under the trees on the grass, or the hammock. Very nice pool facility and sun deck. The breakfast is simply good pastries, coffee, cereals, fruit and juice. The "regular" patrons were a joy to meet and converse with during our stay. It's not surprising why they would return every summer. Rick, his family and his staff were great. They really know how to make you feel at home. The local merchants in this small town as well as many of the locals were great to do business with and helpful in making our stay perfect. My son Kellen and I would like to thank you all for the wonderful time in Windham.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coxsackie, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stay at this establishment every year for the Civil War event that is held at the Center Church in Windham.
This hotel is very clean and beds are very comfortable. Staff there is really friendly and very helpful. Would recommand this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

While visiting the Catskills last week we happened on this hotel. Loved the indoor pool; hot tub and great patio area. The rooms were large and very clean. I would stay here again if in the area. Staff was polite and made sure we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very happy with the room and grounds. Very clean, and the mini breakfast was very good(coffee, juice, pastries, cereal, and fruit). Pleasant staff. Pool area was well kept. I would stay again.
Just a FYI: The tap water tastes off, and they had a notice in the room about it. No biggie, just drink bottled water. there is a fridge in the room.

Room Tip: Rooms in front face the parking, go for the rear rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Address: 107 State Rte 296, PO Box 487, Windham, NY 12496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Styled Chalet located one mile from Windham Mtn, 1/4 mile from the Windham Country Club and 8 miles from Hunter Mtn Ski Area and NY ZipLine adventure. Each room has 32" LCD TV w/DVD, Ipod docking radio, refrigerator, in room phone, private bath, private balcony, A/C, blow dryer. Continental Breakfast served daily, and the pool and Jacuzzi are open year round 10am to 10pm. Wifi available through the entire hotel, computer for guest use, living room with fireplace and TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel Windham
Hotel Vienna Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.