We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vienna to your Saves list
Hotel Vienna
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 State Rte 296, PO Box 487, Windham, NY 12496   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Access to Windham Path
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Recently had opportunity to have extended stay at Hotel Vienna. Wef found the rooms to be very comfortable with all amenities. The breakfast in the morning was very good especially the croissants and danishes and the breakfast room was cozy with a fireplace!. The pool was welcomed at the end of the day. We found Rick and his staff to be very friendly and attentive to all our needs. They get an A plus in our book.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    66
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
58
113
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I found this hotel warm and inviting. The owners were very personable and friendly. The breakfast room was a warm room where they had fresh hot pastries that were delicious along with hot and cold cereal, coffee, tea, juice, etc. The rooms were a little dated but the bed was quite comfortable, jacuzzi tub and free wi-fi. At night , you could pull up a chair in front of the gas fireplace in the breakfast room. There was an indoor pool and hot tub in a seperate building that had windows on three sides. Over all, I thought the hotel a great bargain and intend to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

While we didn't have the pleasure of meeting Amy, our positive experience with Rick started before we even booked the room! Fantastic experience from start to finish! Clean rooms, excellent service, and a fantastic location. A top notch operation!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I used the very convenient eighty dollar mid-week-stay coupon found on the Tripadvisor site and enjoyed a spacious second story room with a pretty view of the distant hills. The well-kept room and bathroom were very clean, as were the furniture and king bed. A sign in the bathroom notes that the hotel's water source is an artesian well and may have a sulfur odor - I did notice a slight smell when showering but it wasn't a concern. Only the Jacuzzi looked tired and in need of a face lift.

The room included a new flat screen TV with extensive cable coverage plus a DVD player for the many movie titles available at no cost from the front desk (whose staff was always friendly and helpful). Sure, the fabric styles and lighting fixtures are dated, but I wasn't expecting the latest in fashion. The hotel was extremely quiet and I had a great night's sleep before an early rise to hike the Catskill high peaks.

I appreciate a hotel like the Vienna where the staff works to keep the rooms and grounds in order. Not everything here is brand new, but I enjoyed a clean, friendly and quiet stay and will return if I'm back in the Cats.

Room Tip: Second story rooms facing the mountains have a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

First off it is more a motel than a hotel. The place is neither charming nor rustic, it is just an old place in need of a major upgrade. The room was repulsive, musty and smelly. Bed linen was so outdated and had a terrible musty smell. Old, worn carpetting. Uncomfortable bed and pillows. Old TV with few channels. Bathroom was renovated with a jacuzzi-like tub but I dared not soak in the tub cos I was just so disgusted with the general atmosphere of the hotel room. We had food delivered from an outside restaurant. We were definitely not interested in the continental breakfast nor did we use the indoor pool. We would have left if we hadn't had such a long work week and driven such a long way to get there. The hallway reminded me of some, old drab western motel (like in the movies).

We get that you (hotel vienna) are a small town hotel but for the price, do some upgrading.

On the other hand, the staff seemed friendly. The hotel did have some nice scenery. But no nice views if your room faced the parking lot like ours did. We came here after reading the favorable reviews, which after our stay I can't fathom why anyone would write them. We don't plan on coming back and would not recommend this place to anyone we know.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel Vienna was a marvelous place and an exceptional value with the Living Social special. It was a nice way to meet sole proprietors who take pride in their establishment and do everything possible to make your stay with them memorable.

Breakfasts consisted of a continental breakfast with fresh baked croissants, as well as a delectable strawberry/cream cheese filled pastry, fresh fruit, oatmeal, cereals, and yogurt. They also had a variety of coffee, juice as well as teas and cider/hot chocolate packets. And in the afternoon, if you were lucky enough to be at the hotel during late afternoons, Rock made an amazing bread pudding that was simply scrumptious!

The rooms were spacious, with a private balcony and chairs, and maintained in excellent condition. Views were breathtaking, especially during last week’s peak foliage season. Jacuzzi tub/shower with hot water to spare and along with spa favorites and a welcome wine basket gave an extra flair to the accommodations.

A piece of heaven in the Catskills. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Great places to eat within a mile of the hotel but make sure you save room for the lavish breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had another great family weekend at Hotel Vienna!! It's like a home away from home!! Love the people that we've met and Rick, Amy and their staff are just the nicest people!! Do yourself a favor and pay them a visit - you will not regret it!!! We will be back in January!!!! ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
14.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#1 of 6 in Windham
5.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
15.0 mi away
Wolff's Maple Breeze Resort
8.2 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 3 in Tannersville
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Address: 107 State Rte 296, PO Box 487, Windham, NY 12496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vienna 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Styled Chalet located one mile from Windham Mtn, 1/4 mile from the Windham Country Club and 8 miles from Hunter Mtn Ski Area and NY ZipLine adventure. Each room has 32" LCD TV w/DVD, Ipod docking radio, refrigerator, in room phone, private bath, private balcony, A/C, blow dryer. Continental Breakfast served daily, and the pool and Jacuzzi are open year round 10am to 10pm. Wifi available through the entire hotel, computer for guest use, living room with fireplace and TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel Windham
Hotel Vienna Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.